We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Old Habano”
Review of El Ambia Cubano

El Ambia Cubano
Ranked #8 of 443 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family restaurant, with a history, excellent Cuban food and ambiance.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like Old Habano”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just a little casita across from the river. Small menu, but AWESOME! on Fri-Sat they have live music. Owner used to be a pilot for Cuban Airlines.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    116
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good attempt at Cuban”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is tiny. (Only seven tables inside and a few more outside) but does a good job at rolling out authentic Cuban fare; Cuban sandwiches, Rice/beans and a Roast Pork that is slow roasted for hours and seasoned to perfection. The flan is not to be missed, along with a shot of Cuban coffee (the cafe con leche not so much;-()

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosepetals766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again...”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm shocked by how many positive reviews this restaurant has. Me and my girlfriend ordered our meals at 7:28pm. She ordered the fried pork and I wanted a medianoche sandwich. The staff refused to make me a sandwich. They said they stop making sandwiches at 7:30pm. I ordered two minutes early and I was still refused. Unbelievable. For a menu that is already extremely limited there aren't that many other choices besides sandwiches. I ended up not eating that night. My girlfriend wasn't impressed with her meal either. Very dry. I am friends with a couple local restaurant owners that would never treat their "valued" customers the way El Ambia's does. Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianengineer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ambia C, Owner at El Ambia Cubano, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I understand how frustrating is when something like this happen, and I know an apology or saying sorry will not be enough for you. Nevertheless my apologies to you, and I want to say I am sorry even is not enough.
I am working on all those details that should not happen, and I accept that it is totally my responsibility and you are complete right.
We have a very limited menu because the size of our kitchen, doesn't let us have a more diverse menu, but a sandwich should not be denied to anybody and especial to you as our value customer.
I will love to give to you and especial free dinner of your choice at El Ambia, and no only to you but also to your friend please. Please contact me at 321 327 8389.
To make a sandwich take longer that any other food but we have it now available till the restaurant is close.
I really sorry and thank you for taking time and review our restaurant El Ambia Cubano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent CUBAN Cuisine”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really nice environment with good Cuban Music coupled with great service and an unforgettable meal; the yuca frita was the best ever and "Masitas de cerdo con frijoles negros" exquisitas. My regular place for dinner on my next business trip to PAFB.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank crame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT Cuban food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have dined here plenty of times, and I truly enjoy the food. The food offered is amazing and by far the best Cuban sandwich I have had in the state of Florida. In my opinion the food is 5 star authentic, but the choices available and the cramped setting are why I gave it a 4 star. While I understand that the full menu is not available every night, it is still disappointing when I take family there that is visiting from out of town. It is a small establishmen and can be cramped when busy, but the food far out weighs these minor issues.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenygreen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ambia Cubano also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Indialantic, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to El Ambia Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing