We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and delicious”
Review of El Ambia Cubano

El Ambia Cubano
Ranked #6 of 437 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family restaurant, with a history, excellent Cuban food and ambiance.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute and delicious”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The inside of this place is a bit crowded, but the patio is lovely. Food it simple. But tasty and a great value. The yuca frita and tres leches cake were sublime. Well done!

Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    112
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Melbourne for a class, we passed by this place and decided to try it. Being from New Mexico, I thought the food would be similar to ours. Boy, was I wrong. I had the Manas de Puerco Fritas...... The flavors exploded in my mouth....the onion and garlic mojo...the tender pork... Not to mention the beans and rice! We were treated like we had stopped in to a family members kitchen. Loved the atmosphere, the servers and even the customers were friendly. Can't wait till vacation time... I am taking MY family there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huvud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great lunch special and outdoor seating”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed cuban dish, Ropa Vieja, with tostones and red beans and rice. Was their daily special for a Thursday. The meat and beans and tostones were delicious and was well worth the price for the quantity. The outside seating was very nice as well, added to the ambience. It was overall a good experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would not go back!!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I really don't know where to start but let me say "I love Cuban food" and was so excited to try this place after reading the reviews and was so disappointed. Taking our son and his girlfriend out we sat down to b greeted by a waitress that didn't seem to have a clue. I thought the menu was very limited and we all settled for the "special" pork dinner we all wanted the sweet plantains and got different beans and rice, red/black which the beans were the only saving grace of what would b a nightmare dinner.. Well the next thing we were told was the cc machine was broke and if we need to go get money we should. For some reason I remembered I had my chk book on me (we r local) and after discussion they decided they would accept that. So the meals come, 2 of the meals were delivered with yucca not plantains 2 had white rice not yellow and when we said something she blamed the cooks and we were not sure she was even going to fix the mistake. 1/2 way thru the meal she brought the plantains and she said "these are coming out of my pocket" and turned and left. My son and his girlfriend both work as servers in very busy restaurants and even they were shocked at her attitude. Yes, mayb I had a terrible experience w/ the waitress but the food was not anything to get excited about. The pork was dry, the plantains were tasteless and the rice was bland. So you may ask...anything good about the. Evening....yes, having time w/ my family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Missmymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ambia C, Owner at El Ambia Cubano, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
If you come back to El Ambia I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
The server is no longer part of our team.
We do not use a credit card machine, we use POS system/ internet and it's possible internet was down. We already have changed providers and we also have a backup system .
All the dishes come with Tostones and you have the choice to substitute it for sweet plantains when you order.
It was an issue with a refrigerator back in Feb and we have to throw away all the plantains. We asked the servers to offer fried yuca or any choice that the customer likes.
About the pork -- no clue what happened, but we always get compliments on the pork.
Please let me deliver a free pork dish to your door if you decide not to come back
I really care about my customers and the quality of the food.
Thank you again, Alfredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One would think one is in Cuba. The atmosphere, the food and the staff are all terrific. Try to get Natalie as your waitress as she is tops and takes the time to discuss the menu with you. Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slimmer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ambia Cubano also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to El Ambia Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing