We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you are looking to camp near some great fishing this is for you” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground
NC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you are looking to camp near some great fishing this is for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We camped and fished here in November. My husband caught a nice Red Drum in the inlet. The park is open 24/7 and people fish all night. The campground was nice enough, not amazing but it is near the water and the bathrooms were in good shape and clean.

Just a hint that may or may not work out to be the case for you but when we called ahead we were told that they were booked for the night but we went to fish anyway and as it turned out there were several sites open.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pitayaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just got back from a weekend stay at Sebastian Inlet state park.. The campgrounds were great. Clean grounds, clean restrooms, friendly rangers, police presence patrolling made it feels safe..it was packed given the amount of people that were there but there was enough privacy. The camp grounds are just a short drive from the beach....and beaches galore. There are a series of many paths through the dunes to get to the Atlantic ocean for some of the best fishing and surfing. Or you can go to the many fishing piers. There is a lagoon in the inlet for those who want to wade or for small children and seniors who dont want to brave the rough waters of the Atlantic ocean. The mosquitos and no-see um's are the only thing that you have to prepare for...aside from that, I had a great time and the weather was just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 mid-week nights here in our RV in late April and loved the campground. Yes, the campsites are close together, but they are right on the water--the inlet--and we could walk 10 feet away to watch the dolphins fishing, the fish jumping, the waterfowl keeping an eye on fishermen, and pelicans swooping over the water looking for dinner. We watched the beautiful sunset and I woke early to bike 5 minutes to the Atlantic beach side and watch the sun come up. We put kayaks in at the boat ramp and watched fish scatter; dolphins swam right around us. Aside from the calm seas--no waves to play in--the only downside was the constant drone of the dredging operation right there in the inlet, which should be over soon. Park staff were very helpful and other guests were quiet. We did get lucky with the sunny, warm weather.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Went Camping there and the minute we set up the Tents we were Harrassed by the park Rangers and were treated like little kids in Summercamp . Unless U hav a Winnebaggo don't stay there cause it seem they treat people stayin in tents differrently .don't ask me why it just seems that way ...I live in Florida and I will never ever stay there again...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PrettyRickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Royal Palm Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed over July 4th weekend in site 21 and 35. It is a wonderful campground if you have a camper and enjoy water activities. It is probably even better if you fish or have a boat or jet ski. The only downside is that the bugs are terrible in the summer: mosquitos and no see ums. We were bit so bad and nothing would keep them away. You can't enjoy anything outside your camper from dusk to sun-up because of them. You really can't eat outside either because of the bugs. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend tents for the summer months. Great things about the park is that there is plenty of space to get a camper in/out and good space between sites. There is a fishing musem on site that is nice to visit and the treasure museum ($2.00 entry fee) is very tiny but interesting if you are into history/treasure. The cove on the north side is a great place for kids to swim and explore different types of fish & jellyfish (no tentacles to sting). There are dolphins, sea turles and manatees to enjoy. You need to drive over / not safe to walk or ride a bike on the narrow bridge. Park Staff are very nice. Overall - great place for a quick getaway!

Room Tip: book on reserveamerica.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acreageoutbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

First, this isn't a place for tents (even though they say it is). The ground was so hard we couldn't get our tent spikes in with heavy duty mallets. Second, you're right next to people, no privacy at all. Third, SAND FLEAS!! II've never witnessed sand fleas so bad. We ended up leaving. The only good things about this place are it's a good location to a good beach and the campsite itself is along a nice bay. Also, the ranger was very nice and you felt safe that he kept a consistent patrol. That's it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vpaul8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and my two dogs stayed there for one week and it was wonderful. Nice cool breezes, no bugs or sand fleas and everyone was very friendly. The park rangers would check on us three and four times a day. Not to mention they patrolled the park at night. We are going back in late April for another week. I would recommend this park to any family with or with out kids. Great place to vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Strat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
15.5 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sebastian Hotel & Suites
17.2 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
18.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
20.4 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground

Property: Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground
Address: Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area, Melbourne, FL 32951
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reservations are needed, and groups are limited to 20 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sebastian Inlet State Recreation Area Campground Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing