We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and quite enjoyable.”
Review of Brevard Zoo

Brevard Zoo
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brevard Zoo is home to more than 650 animals, representing 165 species. Feed gentle giraffe and lorikeets, go kayaking or take a paddle boat ride and ride the train. Get wet in Paws On, enjoy daily animal encounters and be sure to experience our rhino encounters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and quite enjoyable.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the zoo with our grandson. He was able to feed the giraffes and the bird section was amazing! We fed them a treat and they came on your arms and head. We went on a very hot day but with all the trees, there was a lot of shade.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    497
    89
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the day.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited the Brevard Zoo last spring and really enjoyed the visit. It would be a great place for kids and adults; well kept; last year's sand sculptures were beautiful! A fun visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited on a really busy day but there is plenty of room - mostly. The zoo is split into different sections. There's quite a lot for children to do. The only difficulty is that the paths go in a circle and although there are directions some people choose to go the opposite way and the paths can be a bit narrow especially when people have buggies or wheelchairs. The animals are great but some of the cages look a bit small. The giraffes are good as you are at a level with their heads and you can purchase treats to give them - although it isn't necessary as the zoo keeper is there also feeding them. This area can be very congested. There is food available but it's a bit restricted. It did rain while we were there and there isn't much shelter available. Saying all that we had a good few hours and it was enjoyable

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach FL
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Zipline is a great family adventure. Giffafes are so friendly”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved the zipline adventure - 16 ziplines that go over the animal cages and over the alligator area. Fun obstacle courses with plenty of young helpers to assist. It took us 4 hours. Suggest bringing water and a meal bar as it can be strenuous, warm and hunger can be a problem. The zoo is friendly especially the giraffes and aviary. Lots of monkeys. Children get nice closeups of most of the animals but, of course, in a safe environment. Fun day

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“went to the zoo!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Awesome trip and great little mini getaway with the family. Do the high trek...its an awesome adventure but there is an additional charge. Give yourself a few hours to do the trek. Great idea if your not liking the zoo then trek while the rest of your group visits the zoo. Even a small water area for toddlers to cool off in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoofysAwesomeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brevard Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Brevard Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing