We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Zoo”
Review of Brevard Zoo

Brevard Zoo
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brevard Zoo is home to more than 650 animals, representing 165 species. Feed gentle giraffe and lorikeets, go kayaking or take a paddle boat ride and ride the train. Get wet in Paws On, enjoy daily animal encounters and be sure to experience our rhino encounters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice Zoo”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Even though it is not a large zoo like you would experience in a big city like San Diego it is still a nice place to go to. The habitats for the animals are very nice, they have plenty of areas to roam around. Getting the chance to feed a giraffes and lorikeets is always pretty exciting. I haven't had the chance to do the kayak tour or Treetop adventure but plan to do so in the near future.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank anonymous E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,311
    488
    88
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Attraction”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am a Brevard County resident and a member of the Brevard Zoo. My first time going was about a year ago. It is reasonably priced. Kids under 2 are free. Food and drinks are for sale at a reasonable rate also. Selections are great! Healthy items are available. The gift store is large and full of goodies! Park employees are always around and super enthusiastic and helpful. A baby giraffe was just born less that 2 weeks ago and I cannot wait to go see it!!! They have exhibits and events often that keep you coming back for more. My favorite things are the monkey section and Africa where you can feed the giraffes with your kids...priceless! Oh and the swim area for toddlers/kids..too fun! Pails are available for water playing. You can get up close and personal with the fish while you swim. Beware the crows will take off with any food you have hanging out in your stroller. There are little snack stations throughout the zoo that give you food to feed the animals for $.25. It is fun to watch your kids get excited over feeding the birds, fish, and gators.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLC010104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice quick diversion in Florida”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a small zoo, but a very nice one.

We were quite impressed. The environment is very appealling, and you get good views of all the animals.

As two adults, we walked the entire thing in 2 hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank westsidejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick N.J.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Zoo”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Better than you would think and good value. Very very close to hotel. It gives you a nice stress free day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a Nice Zoo!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this zoo. Boardwalk paths lead you to the different areas and the collection of animals is good for the size of the zoo. We saw some animals we have never seen in a zoo before. Everything looked so clean and well laid out, with lots of greenery. There is a place to feed a giraffe and a free flying area to feed birds. For an added price there is also a tree top walk and a zip line. You can also pay to go kayaking with a guide around one of the sections. If you like zoos, we recommend this one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brevard Zoo also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Brevard Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing