We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Salt and Sweet Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 438 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
757 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A group of 17 of us went for New Year's Eve dinner at Salt and Sweet. We were seated at three tables. The food was outstanding and the priced to provide great value. One couple are vegetarians and their choices were few, but they found food that they were very happy with to order. There was a special New Year's Eve menu and I think that there would have been more vegetarian choices on the regular menu. The server staff was very efficient. One of the tables took a very long time to get served and we are not sure why. The management did offer complimentary dessert and coffee for the delay, but portions were large and people were too full to eat dessert. The atmosphere is very nice and it is a restaurant that is quiet enough for people to be able to talk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After reading the reviews of this restaurant I was even more suprised at how we were treated. We had reservations for 7pm, we were seated at 6:50pm. We had a server come to the table 20 minutes later and took our drink order and we never saw her again at our table. We watched her serves three other table, two of which was part of our party. We had to stop a serves that was setting up table and asked to have some bread, after 30 minutes of waiting, for someone to take our order. Finally the server setting the tables came and took our order. By then the other two tables of our party were being served coffee and dessert. After we one hour of waiting we received our food. We asked to speak with the Owner, the Owner came to the table, with an attitude, before we voiced our disappointment. She walked away and would not even offer our coffee or dessert. A friend went up and asked the Owner, if we could have coffee and dessert, by this time our table had, had enough. It was the worst service and attitude from an Owner, I have ever encountered. The price and hour thirty minutes wait, and bad service was not worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ethnic Treasure hidden in a Strip Mall”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very lovely and cozy Polish restaurant with linen tablecloths and fine dining at amazingly low prices.
The service is very personal and the food appeared to be cooked to order. We had the soup, the salad, the entree and the dessert. All were excellent. One tip: many entrees are served with red cabbage which is served cold...but they will heat it for you prefer it hot.
The atmosphere is so nice, it's the perfect spot for a special lunch or dinner. But it's also perfect for anyone, anytime. Lunches are priced from $7.95 and include soup or salad and delicious warm fresh bread. They serve beer and wine and close from 2pm to 5pm. Outdoor seating is minimal...just a couple of tables curbside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbound3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hearty and delicious Eastern European food. The pierogies and potato pancakes were yummy. The cabbage rolls were very good too, but I would have preferred the traditional tomato sauce over them. The service is first rate and don't be put off by the strip mall location. Excellent food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzePB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our friends really like this place and we liked it OK but we don't prefer their type of food but it was all good and probably a good place for people to go that appreciate that type of food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Einstein4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Sweet Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Salt and Sweet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing