We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOM and POP German”
Review of Edelweiss

Edelweiss
Ranked #47 of 438 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“MOM and POP German”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Quirky, run down ex gas station building on the outskirts of Melbourne Florida on US 1 heading south to Vero Beach. Do not let the run down look fool u!

Some of the best German food u will encounter here in Florida, try the paprika schnitzel with red cabbage and noodles,,,,, simply superb!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    27
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spaetzel and Schnitzel”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Brown bread, Weinerschnitzel, red cabbage and German beer abound. This is a very cozy little restaurant open four days a week. Make your plans now for this was the best schnitzel I've had in the States. I didn't try the spaetzel but hear it is every bit as authentic as the schnitzel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JParlante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Small restaurant with good food. You will not go away hungry! Good portion size and great flavor! The only drawback I could see was that it was a little darker than I cared for. Maybe they will turn the lights up a little more.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilbirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Such a Unique Experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having spent 5 years in Germany in the Air Force, my husband and I always like to try the rare, hard to find German restaurants when we stumble across one. We went to Edelweiss last week during a day trip to Melbourne and are anxious to go back! Walking in the door, you are immediately greeted by an authentically decorated, quaint little restaurant and staff are all dressed in authentic German costume. The cook in his leather lederhosen & the ladies all dressed in dirndls. The food was delicious and authentic as well and they even served German beers which was an extra special treat! Don't order the iceberg salad because that's exactly what it is...iceberg lettuce & dressing...traditional in Germany, but most Americans would consider it very "plain." We are definitely going back on our next trip north to Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The service at this restaurant is very poor. There were only two severs and they could only attend to one table at a time. No one ever refilled our drinks or came back to check on us. The food was below average and the price is high. I'd rather go to McDonald's next time. Don't bother going!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing