We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in the hills”
Review of Whistle-Stopover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whistle-Stopover
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockatoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Romance in the hills”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a double booking by stayz , the love of my life and I had no where to stay ..... A recommendation to give Lesley a call saved the day as not only did she have accommodation for us, it was perfect!
Lit candles, warmed room , rose petals, complimentary port and chocolates even a chess board: it was all there. Lesley has created a place that is dedicated to love.so if its romance your after this is it.thank you lesley

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
So glad we where able to help out. Thank you for the kind response.
Hope the earrings got back to you safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In a word - outstanding. A extremely comfortable cottage that caters well for couples, families or friends. Tastefully decorated, with a very homely feel and spotlessly clean. Very well priced for such a high standard. The owners are very accommodating and welcoming. Would we visit again - yes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It was great to meet you both and so happy you loved our little hideaway!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

For our anniversary we stayed a night in the spa suite .Lesley made us welcome from the moment we arrived . The unit is a romantic hideaway.... warm , alluring and beautifully decorated. We loved the "oh so comfy" four poster bed, the huge and relaxing double bath adorned with petals, and the welcoming touches of hospitality, such as cheese and biscuits, some chocolates and lots of choices for a warm cuppa . Breakfast in the garden at Whistlestopover was a highlight; the birds singing, the smell of the dew glistening garden and the "toot" of puffing billy as she chugged by. Only one night but it was very special .
( dont miss having dinner at Elevation in Emerald ! )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWKM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
A lovely complement thank you and so happy your both had a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just literally had the experience of a lifetime at Whistle Stopover, we had our wedding ceremony there! It was superb, everyone was so impressed with the Cottage. We had a small gathering of about 30, and with only a few props transformed the lounge room with its perfect cathedral ceilings into a weany and intimate chapel. My husband and I are so grateful. Lesley was so accommodating and welcoming, I tentatively raised the idea with her over the phone and she was surprisingly kind and encouraging. We stayed in the Cottage the night before with dear friends and family and then stepped down the road to my daughters house to celebrate with our Melbourne friends after the wedding. The house is perfect, so lovingly laid out with the finest attention to every detail. Warmth of hospitality in every sense of the word. Thank you Lesley! xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
So happy that our little piece of paradise was transformed so beautifully into your wedding chapel!!
Thank you for your comments and maybe we will see you on your first wedding anniversary???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This cottage was exquisite, warm, tranquil and above all else unique!! Waking up in the morning we felt a sense of being in another world... listening to the birds, the rain and hearing puffing billy was incredible!! We never wanted to leave... The owners made our anniversary the most memorable one... we look forward to our next stay...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgnfli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are very pleased you loved your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the spa suite, it was just perfect.
So private, and quiet in beautiful surroundings.
Spotlessly clean with georgeous bedding, we were so comfortable.
We left so happy and relaxed, we will definitly be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks guys, so glad you enjoyed your stay it was great to have you come to
our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised walking through the door of the cottage, the photos don't do it justice. The Cottage is so quaint and cosy with it's a-frame ceiling, wooden surrounds and amazing gas open fire that you could mistake for being real. Everything was so clean and all provisions were delicious and overstocked so we definitely weren't going to go hungry for breakfast, along with treats for our little dog, as Lesley put it "so he doesn't miss out". A fully stocked kitchen made it easy for us to cook up some of the local delicious produce for dinner as well. Overall we had a really lovely weekend, loved the cottage, loved the surrounds, loved the service and loved the area. I would recommend this place for ANY occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyThumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you Kelly it was lovely to meet the three of you!! Come back soon!! Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockatoo
19.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
23.6 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gembrook Cottages
Gembrook Cottages
#1 of 3 in Gembrook
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
395 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#2 of 3 in Emerald
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Heart of Emerald
The Heart of Emerald
#1 of 3 in Emerald
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistle-Stopover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle-Stopover

Property: Whistle-Stopover
Address: 11 Doonaha Rd, Cockatoo, Victoria 3781, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Cockatoo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockatoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistle-Stopover is a luxury Bed & Breakfast situated alongside the famous Puffing Billy Railway track between Cockatoo and Gembrook in a mountain ash forest setting.The train passes by the one acre property twice daily and will stop at Fielder Station to pick up or drop off guests when pre-arrangement is made, from the station it is only a one minute walk and you are back at Whistle-Stopover.At Whistle-Stopover your host Lesley Bock offers two types of accommodation, a three bedroom fully self contained Federation Style Cottage and also a traditional B&B Luxury Spa Suite. Both are suitable for Wedding accommodation with the Honey Moon couple able to luxuriate in the privacy of the opulent Suite and the guests comfortably accommodated in the Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whistle-Stopover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing