We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ver Happy”
Review of Whistle-Stopover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whistle-Stopover
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockatoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hubby and I were upgraded to the separate cottage to our delight. We realised afterward that the owners were going away and so we had the place to ourselves. It was just simply lovely. I had visions of writing a story to set the mood for my review but you know how time gets away. All I can say is we wish we had stayed longer and we WILL seek Whistle-Stopover out again when we head down to Victoria again.

The property is situated alongside the famous Puffing Billy Railway line but don't let this dishearten you. The train does not impinge on the serenity and peace in any way. As it runs only a couple of times a day it adds to the character. My husband is a train spotter anyway (ssshhhhh don't let on that you know)

The cottage is very well kept and is spotless. There is both gas heating and air conditioning. The kitchen is fully kitted out and as far as breakfast is concerned there is plenty. there are three bedrooms, one bath room, lounge and dining. There is even a bbq out on the back deck.

I am embarrassed to admit that I cannot recall the hostess's name however can I say, I left my heat pack behind (Sad looking thing that it was) and the hostess smsd to let us know! She even offered to mail it home! How often have you had this experience? Usually one can say goodbye to that item.

We met someone who had satyed in one of the rooms within the house and they loved it as well, so basically, you cannot go wrong :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place was orginally recommended to me from a client so I deicided to book it for my partners birthday celebrations. We also took along the two dogs which Lesley and Peter were only too happy to accomadate. The pictiures of this place online do not do it justice. The settings are beautiful and the cottage is very homely. The little touches like the biscuits, port and chocolates make it extra special. On the second day we were there I managed to lock myself out, Lesely was only too happy to come and unlock the door for us and recommended a nice resturant for dinner. Nothing was to much trouble.

We are planning on returning in August, would highly recommend it to others. Thanks Lesely and Peter for an amazing expereince.

Stayed from 31st May - 2nd June

Room Tip: Tip if staying in the cottage make sure you bring several bath bombs as the spar is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajs604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay in our little piece of paradise!!!
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this is the most beautiful b & b you could wish to stay in. leslie is a wonderful hostess and has everything possibly imaginable set up for your stay. don't go past the whistle stopover when choosing your b & b in the hills! kerry clark

Room Tip: choose the cottage for your family....it has everything and more. otherwise the spa suit is ideal fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Manager at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Great to meet you both and come back soon, Lesley and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed the night after attending a wedding in Gembrook. The spa suite is incredibly charming, quaint and absoutely spotless. We really didn't spend enough time there to fully enjoy the surroundings but getting ready for the wedding it was really wonderful hearing Puffing Billy pass so class by. I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again, this time for two nights, to really benefit from the special finishing touches that are included.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks for the lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed the night here as the finish to our wedding day celebrated in nearby Gembrook. We got in exhausted to find a bottle of champagne on the table with a card of congratulations. Was so great to unwind from the full-on day that we had.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

So happy your special day went well. maybe we will see you back in our little piece of paradise soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We needed a restful place to getaway, and when a brief midweek opportunity presented itself, we took it! Lesley was friendly and welcoming. The surrounds are picturesque and the cottage is clean, modern and charming. The little touches such as chocolates, port, home-made biscuits, candles were a treat. Every window in the cottage has a beautiful outlook, but there are many places to sit outside in peaceful privacy. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are so happy your stay with us was a relaxing one.
Lesley and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night on the way to phillip island. It is really private and the outside verandah a lovely place to sit. The hosts leave lovely little touches everywhere including home made biscuits. The housd was spotless and the bedding deluxe. We felt so relaxed the next day and wished we were staying two nights. we also loved the nearby area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We hope to see you both next year,
Lesley and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockatoo
3.7 mi away
The Heart of Emerald
The Heart of Emerald
#1 of 4 in Emerald
79 reviews
22.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
2.5 mi away
Gembrook Cottages
Gembrook Cottages
#1 of 3 in Gembrook
62 reviews
23.6 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistle-Stopover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle-Stopover

Address: 11 Doonaha Rd, Cockatoo, Victoria 3781, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Cockatoo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockatoo
Price Range: $194 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistle-Stopover is a luxury Bed & Breakfast situated alongside the famous Puffing Billy Railway track between Cockatoo and Gembrook in a mountain ash forest setting.The train passes by the one acre property twice daily and will stop at Fielder Station to pick up or drop off guests when pre-arrangement is made, from the station it is only a one minute walk and you are back at Whistle-Stopover.At Whistle-Stopover your host Lesley Bock offers two types of accommodation, a three bedroom fully self contained Federation Style Cottage and also a traditional B&B Luxury Spa Suite. Both are suitable for Wedding accommodation with the Honey Moon couple able to luxuriate in the privacy of the opulent Suite and the guests comfortably accommodated in the Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whistle-Stopover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing