We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Three generation stay"”
Review of Whistle-Stopover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whistle-Stopover
Ranked #1 of 1 Cockatoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“"Three generation stay"”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter and I spent a beautiful week-end at Whistlestopover cottage, while attending my grandson's wedding nearby. Whistlestopover had everything we could have wanted. We each had our own bedroom, which made it particularly stress-free when getting dressed for the wedding. The day after we were able to relax in the comfortable lounge room of the cottage and re-live the previous day. The beds were extremely comfortable, with lovely linen and heaps of towels! We specially appreciated the little extra touches, such as the biscuits when we arrived, the port and chocolates, and the cheese and grapes in the fridge.
We all definitely hope to return in the future, when we will have more time to explore the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying in our little piece of "Paradise" We hope to see you again. Lesley & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very friendly and helpful owners, tranquil surroundings, decor matched the atmosphere, all necessities provided, will definitely stay again! Awesome price, great value for money for a 2 night stay especially on a public holiday weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying in our little piece of paradise, Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My bridesmaids and I spent the night before my wedding at the beautiful cottage. The cottage was very tidy and well cared for. It has a beautiful country cottage feel to it with beautiful furnishings and decor. It was a perfect way to relax before the big day, with plenty of room for the 5 of us and our hair and make up team to move around in and get ready. The beds were comfortable with lovely linen. My husband and I then spend our wedding night in the cottage the next night, and Lesley very thoughtful and came to tidy the room and freshen the place up for our arrival. Lesley was very courteous, and came to check that we had found the air conditioner, which was lovely. There were even biscuits left out for us in our arrival to the cottage. I would highly recommend staying at the whistle stopover if you are looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay in the yarra ranges. We will definitely be returning again. Many thanks for your fine hospitality Lesley. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B, Owner at Whistle-Stopover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you coming and for the great review, Lesley and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and i spent 2 nights at the lovely whistle stopover for our wedding anniverrary and will be coming back the same time every year and every now and then in between the spa suite is very romantic as it is very nicely done up with wine glasses chocalates candels and rose pedels and in the suite its self there is every thing you need with a high quality of comfort service value and cleanliness the out side area is also very lovely just to sit back relax and soak up the quite froset air even puffing billy comes by and stops at fielder station witch is not even a minute walk from the whistle stopover this is awesome for couples that have young kids lots of excellent restaurants just 10 mins away and the main st of cockatoo is just 5 mins away we will be highly recommending the whistle stopover to all our family and friends and anyone that just wants to escape for the weekend as you could not ask for anything more then what lesley and peter do to make sure your stay is a memorable one wanting to come back for more

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Whistle- Stopover in the Spa Suite on multiple occasions over a number of years and once in the cottage with our 2 young adults last year. We stayed again recently in the Spa Suite for 3 nights. We have kept returning as each time Whistle- Stopover has worked its relaxing magic of forest charm, high levels of comfort and the warm hospitality of hosts Lesley and Peter.

We were first attracted by its prime location on the Puffing Billy train line and the literally 1 minute walk to Fielder Station. Puffing Billy travels past the property between 2-4 times a day which is a big bonus for the family train buff. The spa suite is decorated with romantic trimmings, but not to excess, has high quality linen, a very comfortable bed, great spa bath and is exceptionally clean. Owner Lesley is keen to ensure you are comfortable and will assist with helpful advice such as recommendations for local restaurants etc. The spa suite is cool in summer and the outside area very pleasant for just sitting and reading, or soaking up views of the forest, ferns and local birdlife (make sure you wear insect repellent though as the mossies are persistent). The cottage is well set up for families and our two young adults thoroughly enjoyed it when we stayed last year.

Cockatoo is only 2 mins away by car but has only a few basic shops. Emerald is a 10 minute drive away with better facilities such as restaurants, post office, pharmacy, library, Lakeside park etc.

We thoroughly recommend Whistle- Stopover as a delightful place to relax and to feel like you are miles away from the stress of Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrotPal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My Lady, hellhound and myself took a two night stay here in May of 2012. The property was gorgeous; delightful 4 poster bed, spa bath filled with aromatic goodies, comfortable and cozy couch and rugs. The place had a very homely feel, and the view of forest, forest, forest was amazing to wake up to find greeting us behind the curtains. It felt like we were in our own little cocoon, with the trees serving as a buffer between us and the rest of humanity. The host was informative, amiable and made sure that before we arrived the heater was on, the fridge filled with milk and our breakfast for the next day nicely arranged on the table. Definitely recommended...made even more special by including my Oscar hound in the holiday. The area is pleasant, nearby forest to explore, quaint pubs to dine and rub shoulders with the locals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegutterpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in may 2011 at the cottage. It was a cottage made entirely of wood and catered extremely well for families with young children. They provided a high chair, lots n lots of toys ( soft toys, trains, "mega bloks", a children table, books) and some DVDs. My kids (2&4) just love the place. It was extremely cosy with its electric fire that heated up the entire house, especially the 2 bedrooms upstairs with 2 double beds. There's a master bedroom on the ground floor with a king size bed ( I think) and a round spa bath. it was very peaceful, and we had very good night sleep there ( at night times, almost too hot because of the heat from the heater). The place can sleep 10 max and was self- contained with a stove, cutlery, pots and pans and some basic kitchen stuff like salt, sugar. There's also a wood table with 2 benchs and a BBQ for use during better weather. I really love the place and it is just next to a small train stop for the steam train. Part of the dandenong ranges, it was raining for a few of the days we were there and we were just happy staying there or coming back early to be in this lovely cottage.

While it was a year ago, I still have very fond memories of the place and so decided to write the review.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockatoo
19.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
23.6 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gembrook Cottages
Gembrook Cottages
#1 of 3 in Gembrook
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
395 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fernglade on Menzies
Fernglade on Menzies
#2 of 3 in Emerald
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Heart of Emerald
The Heart of Emerald
#1 of 3 in Emerald
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistle-Stopover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle-Stopover

Property: Whistle-Stopover
Address: 11 Doonaha Rd, Cockatoo, Victoria 3781, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Cockatoo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cockatoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistle-Stopover is a luxury Bed & Breakfast situated alongside the famous Puffing Billy Railway track between Cockatoo and Gembrook in a mountain ash forest setting.The train passes by the one acre property twice daily and will stop at Fielder Station to pick up or drop off guests when pre-arrangement is made, from the station it is only a one minute walk and you are back at Whistle-Stopover.At Whistle-Stopover your host Lesley Bock offers two types of accommodation, a three bedroom fully self contained Federation Style Cottage and also a traditional B&B Luxury Spa Suite. Both are suitable for Wedding accommodation with the Honey Moon couple able to luxuriate in the privacy of the opulent Suite and the guests comfortably accommodated in the Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whistle-Stopover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing