We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood restaurant”
Review of Barnhill's Seafood Spot - CLOSED

Barnhill's Seafood Spot
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we arrived and sat down, two waitresses kept walking by and could tell we had not be waited on. Finally, one of them came over and asked us if we had been waited on, it was obvious what our status was as we didn't even have menus. They need a little better system with tables and servers. If you sat at the bar, service was more attentive.

Once we received our food, it was awesome and can't wait to go back for the great food. The handmade crispy crab wontons were out of this world with lots of crab and a homemade sweet chili thai sauce. The conch chowder was full of conch, very meaty and filling. My husband had a mahi-mahi dinner with a very fresh piece of mahi-mahi. The mashed potatoes were cold though. Next time we will make sure they warm up the mashed potatoes more before serving them.

We want to go back to try some of the other items on the menu as it looked very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aservies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very cute place with awesome food!! I had the lobster special and was very impressed! Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
143 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Mixed feelings about this restaurant. The wait was very, very long even though it wasn't busy when we arrived around one pm. It seemed as thought the tables around us were experiencing the same problem. The bar did fill up and seemed to get a lot of attention so maybe that is where all the service went. When we finally asked if they would at least serve the chowder my husband had ordered, the whole meal came. The waitress said she thought we wanted everything at once which was the case with the table next to us. The chowder was good. I had the oyster BLT which was good but overwhelmed by the large ciabetta roll which wasn't that great. The french fries were a disappointment since the were the processed type with seasoning.

The prices seemed a little high for what we had. We may try it again next year but it won't be our first choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy hour”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stop in between 3 and 6 pm for the oysters on the half shell special. Quaint place, fresh seafood, been there numerous times for the tastiest shrimp I've ever had. Good service, pleasant people. Very casual and comfortable. Highly recommend this place. Don't forget to stop in next door for fresh seafood to take home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5300kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Crab cake sandwich is too die for! We love the atmosphere but the prices were a little outrageous. Not a cheap lunch destination and also not a place to go if your in a hurry. They need more experienced servers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnhill's Seafood Spot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing