We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Matlacha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were in Cape Coral/ Fort Myers for a week for spring break and went out to eat all the time, some higher priced, some lower priced. We went to Sandy Hook on Easter for dinner. This was by far the best meal we had. The food was far better than even the higher priced places we went. I eat seafood all the time and theses were the best scallops I have ever had. I also had oysters and they were top notch too. The conch chowder was great, a little spicy, but I love spicy foods so this wasn't a problem. You can't beat the view either. If I had any complains at all, it would be that there is no outdoor seatin. But that's really not even an issue. We will definitely be returning. I hardly ever do reviews, but I felt this was needed. Thank you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tombluejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We so appreciate your time and review. I am glad that you had a great dinner. We may not be the fanciest place, but we try to keep our prices reasonable while maintaining our quality. I hope to have you back next time you are in town. Hope you had a great spring break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    135
    73
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seafood Delight”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food was plentiful. 1# snow crab legs fresh and hot, baked potato done just right. Steak was a little chewy. Ribs and sauce were really good. Seem to close at an early hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmiller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Snow crab is my favorite!! Thank you for taking time for your review. We stop seating at 9 Tues-Sat and Sunday at 8, as long as you are in the door by that time you are seated. We never rush our customers to leave. In fact that is a huge issue with me and I make sure that my staff knows it. I hope to see you back soon. Sit back, relax and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood and wonderful service!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We took a chance on Easter and drove out to Matlacha. We lucked out at Sandy Hook!
We expected a wait but were seated within a few minutes. You cannot tire of the view of the peaceul water with pelicans divng for treats.
Our server was exceptional. We never had to ask more than once for anything.
The conch chowder was superb and the conch fritters were tender and the best we have ever eaten. The have a variety of seafood and also chicken, pastas and meat.
As a holiday treat, we each had a whole Florida lobster stuffed with crab. It could not be better.
All meals that passed us by looked tempting for sure.
We will be back and look forward to our next meal at Sandy Hook.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loucat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Florida Lobster - YUM!! I am glad we were able to make your Easter a memorable event. I have to give all of the kudos to my staff as they worked hard all day and all season. They make Sandy Hook special. THEY ROCK! I hope you stop by in again and say Hi!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My family and I ate dinner here at the end of March and we had an excellent meal. I had the key lime crusted grouper which was awesome. We also had the key lime pie which was the best we've had so far. We will definitely be back and would recommend this to any family looking for a great meal and a great atmosphere with a great view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBirch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am so happy that you had a great time. I pride ourselves on being a good family restaurant. I have customers' children that I used to carry around while they had dinner. Now some of them are taller than me and going to college!! Make sure you ask for me when you come in and say hi. I always enjoy meeting our reviewers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Love it! Great casual ambiance, family friendly! Come early for dinner...get a table with a view!!! Try the Tuna Nachos or Fish Tacos for a wasabi bite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I really appreciate your review! The tuna nachos are my favorite!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House also viewed

 

Been to Sandy Hook Fish and Rib House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing