We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed at the Eden Arms Hotel from Monday to Friday during the end of October 09. The hotel - though slightly dated - was great and we had a fab time! Our room was huge with extremely comfortable beds and ample tea, coffee, milk provided. The dining room was very pleasant and welcoming and the food and service were very good. After dinner entertainment was provided which was enjoyable (no bingo thank goodness!) and good fun.

Although the hotel is situated out of town, there are buses travelling towards Durham with links to Newcastle, Sunderland etc., or on the other side of the road we also caught a bus to Darlington which we explored and then travelled onto Middlesborough...so plenty to do and see within easy reach.

All in all a very pleasant stay at the Eden Arms, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - it really is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 479 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

Booked a 3 night stay at this hotel via Shearings self drive holidays. The hotel was a little tired in decor but the hospitality and food soon made up for this. Very friendly and more than helpful staff and excellent breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidays018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

my wife and i along with two friends stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, we were very pleased with the rooms and the meals and the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. It is in easy reach of Durham and the Beamish museum with a local bus service to Durham right outside the hotel. We would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delboykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This hotel can not be faulted, we were in a party of four and we all agreed that the staff were the friendliest were had ever met, they went out of there way to help us. The Dining room had an excellent menu with plenty of choice for all of us, and the servings were more than adequate, The hotel is nicely situated for use with the car and is also situated on a bus route that is easy for shopping and sightseeing in Durham. The rooms were also very clean and comfortable, Very good entertainment, I would recomend the duo Wett n Wilde as a must see, they made the evening go with a swing, This is another great Shearings Hotel and we will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josiethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Eden Arms Hotel with 6 friends on a Shearings self drive 5day break at the end of March 2009. We were shown to our rooms, which were very spacious and spotless. The beds were firm. We went for a wander around the hotel, the leisure complex was very good, the bar area was comfortable with plenty of chairs and tables. The dining room was clean and the staff very attentive, the food was very good with a choice of starters, main meals and desserts, and coffee or tea to finish off the meal. The breakfast menu had numerous choices. We went into the entertainment room on the Tuesday and Wednesday evening and they had something for every one.

We will certainly be returing. The only down side was the location. We found we needed transport to go anywhere. (although there is a bus stop right out the door).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CheshirePolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Having never done Shearings self drive decided to go with tthis one as we had decided to go to Durham. We then read the reports!!! yes the hotel is out of the way, yes it is tired and does need re decorating, staff are very friendly, the food is o.k but limited choice, take in to consideration there is nothing around it in walking distance you would EXPECT to be able as a resident of the hotel for the bar to stay open whilst people are wanting to drink AND NOT shut at 23.00 hrs on Saturday night AND 22.00 hrs on Sunday, even the Holiday Inn Express bar stays open while you are wanting to drink. There was entertainment on Saturday evening but there was no bar in the room where it was happening.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fatherrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We were on a Shearings 'all inclusive' break.The hotel has been taken over by Shearings just recently,and was situated rather poorly if you have not got your own transport.The staff were friendly and the food of reasonable standard.The swimming pool was excellent,but the rooms a little tired.One warning though,AVOID ROOM 33 AT ALL COSTS.It's above the plant room and extremely noisy through the night.I understand Shearings have been advised of this but still insist that the manager lets this room.Perhaps if the Shearings representative who recommended letting this room would care to spend a night in it,I think he/she may reconsider that decision.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cosmopolitan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing