We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant(Bishop Auckland)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel(Newton Aycliffe)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel(Bishop Auckland)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Sedgefield(Stockton-on-Tees)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$65
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
143
182
108
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
182
108
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden armsentertainment every nightswimming poolnational holidaysbus passhalf boardcoach tripevery eveningentertainment roomold coaching innno liftsmall gymleisure facilitiesrailway museumdouble glazingshort breakfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 498 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just had a four night stay here with Shearings on a self drive holiday. The hotel is in need of some refurbishment but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is located some 8 miles south of Durham and there is not much to do in the surrounding area. There is a very good bus service into Durham operating from a bus stop across the road from the hotel.
Food served at the hotel was varied and plentiful and served by welcoming staff. The staff throughout the hotel give a warm and cheerful welcome with Phil the maintenance man being a font of historic and local knowledge.
The evening entertainment was very good.
The indoor pool was used by my good lady and she was pleased with the facility.
I have been fortunate enough to stay at several Bay hotels and some are better than others, this one falls short of being one of my favourites and I feel I have seen most of what the area has to offer in this one four night stay so wouldn't be in a hurry to return. Having said that I'm pleased I went.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Malc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It’s very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your comments regarding our food. Our varied menu is going down a storm with all our guests, both old and new and we’re looking forward to building on this.
Phil will be pleased to read your comments, I think he missed his vocation as Newcastle university's professor of History!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return, hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just had a four day break at this lovely hotel, great value for the money paid, service with a smile from all staff, especially our breakfast waiter, Brett. Food excellent. good honest plain fare, nothing to complain about.

Room (35) was a wee bit dated, but very large, always clean and comfortable.

Entertainment every night, some better than others, Steve Conroy very funny.

Would certainly return.

Only one mild complaint, I do not drink alcohol, why no Kaliber alcohol free lager on the Bay inclusive drinks menu???


?

Room Tip: Room 35 is large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LochLeeGlenesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It is great to hear your views on our hotel and we welcome your kind comments.

I will be passing your comments onto the staff at The Eden Arms and also Steve Conroy who will be particularly pleased with the feedback. He always puts on a fantastic show on Tuesday evenings and all are welcome to join in the fun, non residents included.
Brett will be pleased he has another mention! The whole team work together to provide you with some great holiday memories.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and myself stopped on a Friday to Monday package last weekend. Bed and breakfast with evening meal. Free drinks vouchers for use on Saturday night. There were 6 of us in total.
To answer some of the negative points raised by others.
The location is near a busy road junction, but the double glazing and heavy curtains suppressed nearly all unwanted sound. There is a bus stop outside so those without cars can still get about.
The room we had was very clean and comfortable. The bedroom decorations are a bit tired in places, but as a budget room, very good value.
We found that the food choices each day were limited, but were good. The yorkshire puddings were home made and a must have.. The serving staff we very friendly and went the extra mile to accommodate requests.
There was entertainment each evening, Not top billings, but they provided the basis for a good evening.
The leisure area had a nice pool, jacuzzi and sauna. It also had a good selection of gym equipment. But the steam room constantly needed attention from the staff. But this was all free so it was a bonus to us.
Overall, for the price paid, it was well above average and hence provided a great value break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It’s great to hear your feedback as the entire team endeavour to provide the best holiday experience. You can be sure that your comments will be passed on by me personally to the staff.
It would be great to see you again should you pass by our way in the future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A wonderful quaint coaching Inn, that has been carefully maintained with nice bedrooms and superb upgraded rooms available especially as one of our party is wheel chair bound in a suitable suite . Nice bathrooms clean and tidy.

Nice beds with sufficient seats in each room.

Food was excellent with at least 4 choices at each course setting. Staff excellent and enjoyed talking to their guests and efficiently serving , clearing and attending to any extra requirements.

Evening entertainment was great with a party atmosphere being generated without being too extreme or noisy for customers who stayed within their rooms.

Staff closing the bar / concert room area were extremely efficient and courteous to those last revellers who were finishing their drinks.

The swimming pool, jaccuzi ; steam room and sauna were a pleasant surprise and the whole party enjoyed their post afternoon relax in pleasant surroundings.

Breakfast were plentifull with choices for all tastes from Full English to continental breakfast
Again the serving staff were attentive and helpful if there are any specific food requests.

We have returned with great memories for a wonderful weekend .
Recommendation... Visit this hotel , enjoy yourself and you wont be disappointed.
Thank you Eden Inn Staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and we are constantly striving to provide excellent quality throughout all our departments.
We aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
You can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team.
We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

nothing was to much trouble for the staff at this hotel.food was good,swimming pool and spa a bonus,evening entertainment varied and fun.would go back here any time with our friends.a great time was had by all our party.good base foe exploring surrounding area.

Room Tip: premier room excellent but does incur upgrade supplement but well worth it!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff who’s hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today.

We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews