We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
midlothian scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely staff very clean and comfortable hotel. Entertainment very good and enjoyed the entertainers coming round and talking to the guests.Lovely swimming pool. Got bus to Durham should have asked for a return it was cheaper! Beamish and Hartelpool nearby well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 228happytourer228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.
Our aim is to be consistent in the quality of our breaks, so it’s great to hear that you know your stay is always going to be comfortable and pleasant, whatever time of year you book.
Hopefully we’ll see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    162
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
55
236
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. The room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom that appeared to have been fairly recently renovated. We were there in a very cold spell but it wasn't too cold with 2 radiators and also a plug-in electric radiator. The bathroom was cold with tiled floors and no heating - must admit we did sometimes (very carefully) put the plug-in radiator in the bathroom doorway and it then warmed up pretty quickly. It was all very clean and we slept well.

The lounge, bars and concert room were all good, with newspapers available for all to read. We used the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and stand-up walk-in sun tanning equipment and all were well maintained. We enjoyed the meals, there was quite a choice each day and the staff were very efficient and friendly.

It is an old building and reasonably well maintained, the decoration throughout was as good as could be expected although (as mentioned by others) the front door is really, really in need of repainting and gives a very bad first impression. Has a very large, room for all, car park.

To summarise - very good for what we paid - all the staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel needs some modernisation but we would recommend it as comfortable and good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 to 5. They are right above the concert room - very noisy - no chance of an early nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally
If you have any concerns during any future stay, be it unnecessary noises at night or perhaps an additional heater, I’m sure that you’d find our staff to be flexible and obliging.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future where we will welcome you back through a newly painted door!

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for a weekend break in mid March and found the service,staff and facilities to be excellent value.We left the car and got a number 7 bus into Durham and half an hour later we were in the town centre with no worries re parking.The pool and steam room and sauna were great and the meals good value,not to mention the excellent staff .The all inclusive was great .

Room Tip: the twin rooms very spacious with good bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here on a coach package deal. The hotel was clean, but a little dated. The lounge area was comfortable and attractive. the food varied but was mainly tasty and there was plenty of choice. I particularly liked the flexible meal times. Service everywhere was outstanding. Nothing seemed too much trouble. My room was quite good though I needed more light and the bed was very comfortable. It was unfortunate that the shower did not work and the water to both bath and basin was almost none existent. I would stay here again but in a different room..

Room Tip: not room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally
If you have any concerns during any future stay, be it an extra lamp at night or a room change, I’m sure that you’d find our staff to be flexible and obliging.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for a midweek break in March. The hotel was spotlessly clean, our room was very comfortable, bathroom was a bit chilly thats all. The food was good we dont know how they do it for the money, the dark haired geordie lass whom served us was a joy, the entertainment was excellent and as for the free four drinks voucher that was the jam in the donut, we did buy swimming costumes but in the end did not have the courage to go swimming ??? but an excellent pool was there to be had, the only moan we could make (wait for it this is real petty) there was only one toaster in the morning and it didnt work properly, but forgetting that, an excellent hotel, service, food, and amenities all in all beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: we were given an excellent room no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally and I’m sure Julie will be pleased to hear she has a mention!
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and this time you really must try our pool!

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very good time at The Eden Arms Hotel. Food was very good with staff very helpful and friendly (especially Brett). Nice room and en-suite but found it hard to control the shower but it did not spoil our stay. Entertainment on both nights very good. Overall had a very good weekend and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day self-drive break at this hotel. As has already been said, first appearances weren't good - the front door does need a lick of paint - but once inside the building it was very comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were clean - my only complaint was about the dim lighting in the bedroom. The food and entertainment were excellent. We enjoyed relaxing in the leisure facilities after a day out. We will definitely visit again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and staff.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Our staff always read the feedback on Trip Advisor but you can be sure that I will still be personally passing on your comments to everyone.
We all look forward to welcoming you back... Through a newly painted door!

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Property: Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing