We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVED BY THE STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
W. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“SAVED BY THE STAFF”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here on a coach package deal. The hotel was clean, but a little dated. The lounge area was comfortable and attractive. the food varied but was mainly tasty and there was plenty of choice. I particularly liked the flexible meal times. Service everywhere was outstanding. Nothing seemed too much trouble. My room was quite good though I needed more light and the bed was very comfortable. It was unfortunate that the shower did not work and the water to both bath and basin was almost none existent. I would stay here again but in a different room..

Room Tip: not room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally
If you have any concerns during any future stay, be it an extra lamp at night or a room change, I’m sure that you’d find our staff to be flexible and obliging.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    161
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
55
235
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for a midweek break in March. The hotel was spotlessly clean, our room was very comfortable, bathroom was a bit chilly thats all. The food was good we dont know how they do it for the money, the dark haired geordie lass whom served us was a joy, the entertainment was excellent and as for the free four drinks voucher that was the jam in the donut, we did buy swimming costumes but in the end did not have the courage to go swimming ??? but an excellent pool was there to be had, the only moan we could make (wait for it this is real petty) there was only one toaster in the morning and it didnt work properly, but forgetting that, an excellent hotel, service, food, and amenities all in all beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: we were given an excellent room no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally and I’m sure Julie will be pleased to hear she has a mention!
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and this time you really must try our pool!

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very good time at The Eden Arms Hotel. Food was very good with staff very helpful and friendly (especially Brett). Nice room and en-suite but found it hard to control the shower but it did not spoil our stay. Entertainment on both nights very good. Overall had a very good weekend and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day self-drive break at this hotel. As has already been said, first appearances weren't good - the front door does need a lick of paint - but once inside the building it was very comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were clean - my only complaint was about the dim lighting in the bedroom. The food and entertainment were excellent. We enjoyed relaxing in the leisure facilities after a day out. We will definitely visit again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and staff.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Our staff always read the feedback on Trip Advisor but you can be sure that I will still be personally passing on your comments to everyone.
We all look forward to welcoming you back... Through a newly painted door!

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

lovely hotel lovely facilities but due to having not many customers is catering more for bus trips which has made the food very basic and not a pleasurable experience, if your going for a special occassion go somewhere else in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenglenn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I was sorry to hear that you found our menu basic.
I would like to assure you that we value your feedback and are aiming to offer more choice with new menus this Summer.
We hope that this will enhance our guests experience and build on the strengths we already have.
We would love to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Arrived back yesterday from a Shearings 5 day break at this hotel. A nice easy journey from Stretton interchange stopping at Thirsk for a couple of hours which was a nice change from a motorway service station. Coming back stopped at Harrogate for 2 hours which was a real bonus. Our driver Roger was not the chattiest of drivers but friendly and a very careful driver. He was extremely kind when an elderly gentleman travelling on his own got lost in Newcastle and didn't make it back for the coach. Roger got a call from Shearings saying where the old boy was and went back for him making him an hour late. How's that for service.

Hotel is good. We had a spacious twin room with a couple of armchairs, flat screen tv, tea coffee making, lovely spacious bathroom with bath and shower and an iron and ironing board if you needed them. Nice comfortable lounges downstairs and a very pleasant restaurant. Food was about the best we have experienced at a Shearings hotel and we have visited quite a lot of them. Always hot and a good choice. We had entertainment every night. We liked Dave Davis and Nick Martin the best but the girl singer and Steve were also good. Entertainment lounge is small and the chairs were quite uncomfortable but that might just be us being picky. Bingo each night as well. There is a lovely leisure area with a pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and some fitness equipment. Enjoyed that. Staff are lovely. Helpful and friendly. Hotel throughout is spotlessly clean throughout. These breaks (with 4 free drinks per person per night) are excellent value for money and how anyone can complain about anything at this hotel is beyond me. One thing Shearings though is give the entrance doors a lick of paint it gives a terrible and very wrong impression of what is inside. All in all a good stay and would recommend. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front near to the busy road but we didn't hear anything. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and staff.
Our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay
I will personally pass on your comments to all the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Eden Arms Hotel.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our weekend break at the Eden Arms Hotel. The food was very good, the rooms were nice and spacious and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We also enjoyed the leisure facilities. We recommend a trip to the Holy Island and especially to visit the winery. I bought a bottle of the Monk' mead, very nice.

Room Tip: Room 35 is very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break at our hotel, and that you also found time to relax in our leisure club.
I will as always, be passing your kind comments onto all the staff and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back if you chose to return.
Perhaps when you do return we can save you a journey out, and arrange for Monk Mead to be in stock in our bars!

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Property: Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing