We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok trip!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a last minute deal and received a good price for bed and breakfast. We arrived early and were pleasantly suprised that our room was ready. The cleanliness was fine in the room but it obviously had damp issues as there was black patches on the wall and the wallpaper was coming off in places. It was very dated and could have done with a little TLC. There was an extra heater in the room but the bathroom was freezing!!!
We were disappointed that the jacuzzi was not working but more than happy with the other leisure facilities. Breakfast choice was adequate but unfortunately the cooked breakfast was not very warm when served to us. However overall we had a good time and the small faults mentioned will not put us off from returning again. All staff were extremely nice.

Room Tip: We were in room 25 avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I’d like to take this opportunity to respond to some of your concerns.
We are sure that you’ll be pleased to hear that we remain on top of issues associated with a very old building with an ongoing successful maintenance programme.
To this end I’m sure that on your return visit you’ll find that any maintenance faults initially observed duly rectified.
My main concern was with your comments regarding the temperature of the cooked breakfast. It is unacceptable that your breakfast experience was not up to our usual high standards and you can be assured that this issue has been investigated and resolved.
It’s great to hear your praise for the staff and this is always passed on personally.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Eden Arms in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 481 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great staff good food and entertainment swimming pool very nice. Will go again and can recomend Shearings for a great holiday in Durham. If you are not in a car there is a good bus service to various places

Room Tip: ASK for ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lister44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments.
We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims.
As always you can be assured that your comments will be passed onto the whole team, and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked a last minute overnighter at the Eden Arms. Our room was perfectly adequate, with a high degree of cleanliness, so the housekeeping was spot on. Although the hotel could do with a little TLC, the general upkeep of the hotel was of a high standard.
There were a couple of flies in the ointment, however one was rectified straight away. I found the room freezing when we arrived, but the reception staff were on the ball in providing an extra heater. I also found there was an annoying low pitced drone overnight. I am one of those people who need absolute silence to fall asleep, so did find it difficult, but am quite aware that this would probably be out of managements control, and can only put it down to lousy planning.
Had a very nice bar meal, we would have eaten in the main restaurant, but found there was limited choice, so opted for a lighter bite.Breakfast was perfectly fine, and the staff were all friendly and polite but could we please have some mushrooms on our traditional full English :)
With a few little tweaks this hotel could be superb, but can only rate it as average at the moment.This would not put me off staying there again, as long as I got a peaceful nights sleep. Thanks to the staff for their hard work, and keep it up :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stottyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your letter, particularly your comments on our staff.
You can be assured that I will pass these on personally.
If you have any concerns during any future stay, be it unnecessary noises at night or a slightly different menu option, then I’m sure that you’d find our staff to be flexible and obliging.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked a midweek break at this hotel at short notice after seeing a newspaper advert.
The offer included dinner bed and breakfast and 4 drinks per person per day.
The hotel has good facilities including pool, gym, sauna, steam room etc.
Comfortable rooms, not fine dining but more than adequate food and superb fast and friendly service. Good entertainment in evening, (caberet, bingo).
Can't fault it at the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As always your comments will be passed on to all the staff. Our offer is indeed tremendous value for money and with the extra facilities of the leisure club, makes your stay even better value.We all look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

King regards
Paul Hollick
G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have just returned from a five day stay at this hotel and were most impressed.Swift check in and very welcoming staff.
Nice clean and warm room with tea & coffee facilities,the food was excellent along with great dining room staff.My wife and i enjoyed the free leisure facilities and would certainly return to the Bay Eden Arms Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel and although there was a roundabout outside the hotel we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malc2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

It’s very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular your comments on our food. Our new Head Chef is going down a storm with all our guests, both old and new and we’re looking forward to build on this, and strive to make your experiences more enjoyable each time you book.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you return, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are a retired couple on a mid week self drive break.
The front door to the hotel needs replaceing as this gives the wrong impression of the hotel. We chose a room overlooking the car park. The room was comfortable and the ensuite was larger than expected.Both were clean but needed a small amount of repairs.
All the public rooms were well decorated. The only concern was the entertainment room was very cold.
This is the second time we have been on a Shearings holiday and on both occasions they have catered for my gluten free diet admirably.

Room Tip: take an electric heater with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This stay could have been so much better had the hotel got their act together!
Arrived on the first snowy day of the winter on Jan 14th. Apparently the hotel had been closed for 2 weeks and had just reopened. On entering our bedroom it was apparent they had not turned the radiator back on and it was absolutely freezing, not a good start! The room was a good size, a bit tired but acceptable apart from a wing backed chair that looked as if it was ready for the skip (arms very dirty and torn and the stuffing showing in many places. The bed (even had a nice mattress topper on it) was very comfortable with lovely quality bed linen.
Restaurant :- The worst restaurant service we have received from any of the Shearings hotels we have visited! Long waits to be served and between courses , waitresses were continually apologising for the delays. They seemed short staffed and had no organisation, on one occasion the waitress came back 3 times to check what we had ordered, tea was forgotton after we had ordered it. At breakfast I heard the guests on the next table order fried eggs and the waitress said to them "it's a good good you didn't order poached eggs as we haven't got any." It was also pot luck whether you got a tomato with your full english breakfast, on 2 occasions I got one but my wife didn't. On the self service section items were never replenished as they ran out, there was often no bread for toast, orange juice or marmalade portions. The porridge was so thick you almost had to cut it into portions with a knife.
Bars:- On many occasions it seems that the receptionist had to double up as bar person, so there was either no one on reception or on bar duty.Many times in the evening I could not find any bar person in either bar and had to wait for drinks.
Entertainment:- Did not see any of the entertainment all the way through as the room where it was held was so cold even the entertainers commented on it. What we did see of it was ok , typical of what you get in these type of hotels.Get some extra heat in there please!
Yes this was a cheap last minute holiday but that is no excuse give your customers such bad service!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poisedmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Assistant Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your concerns and I would like to take the time to offer you a response.
I can offer an apology if you found the temperature in your room too cold on arrival. I can assure you that all boilers were functioning normally. We do however offer heaters on request at reception in very cold weather.
With regards to your restaurant experience I can assure you that I will be investigating the reasons why you found the service lacking organisation.
We appreciate the feedback as it means we can look into any issues and resolve the situation for the next time.
I realise that this doesn’t change the fact that you were disappointed with your experience, but it may go someway into assuring you that if you were to stay with us again, your experience would be far better.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,361 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
240 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range: $90 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing