We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excelant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excelant holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

having just returned from a five day with shearihgs, staff couldnt have been moor obliging and helpfull,entertainment excelent,bed room comfordouble and very clean,i would recomend this tour and hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holiday619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our staff here at the Eden Arms. You can be assured that I will be passing these on.

We aim to provide the highest standards of comfort and cleanliness at a competitive price, Thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Laurie Simpson. Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    155
    92
    35
    23
See reviews for
53
227
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break. Excellent value! - entertainment good every night, especially Dave Davies. Entertainment makes our holiday.Bingo nightly but only for about 20 minutes so nice for those who either enjoy it or want to escape for a little while. Went with Shearings - inclusive holiday - trips to Durham, Newcastle & Barnard Castle - all included. Food very good - 4 drinks vouchers a day - lovely staff.
The hotel is quite isolated so get what you need when you go on your day trips. - You will not need much though as well fed & watered at the hotel.
We both had a great few days and apart from the hotel staff wish to thank everyone staying with us as it felt like "friends reunited"
Well done and thank you to the staff - had a fire alarm while we were there - only downside was we were called back into the building before the firemen arrived - but hey - you cannot have everything.

Room Tip: Only two floors but some steps so not suitable for wheelchairs or people who struggle to walk. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It was great to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comments about our staff who work tirelessly to provide an excellent level of customer care. I look forward to passing your comments on to them in person.
We pride ourselves on value for money and quality and look forward to living up to your expectations on a future visit.
We’re sorry that you didn’t get to meet any firemen, but you can’t have everything!
Kind Regards,
Laurie Simpson. Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have recently enjoyed a pleasant weekend stay at the Eden Arms Hotel. In terms of value for money the hotel ticked all the boxes although we did have difficulty with the hot water for showers and baths but I suspect it was a short term problem. The staff in particular in the dining room were pleasant and efficient. We would readily recommend the hotel.
Pauline and Brian Thompson

Room Tip: Our Superior room was spacious,pleasant and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Eden arms and glad the glitch with the boiler, didn’t adversely affect your stay. This as you mentioned, was a short term problem and has now been rectified. Thank you for your review and we all look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
G M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice quite hotel, Went with Shearings on a 4 night deal, great value. Good food and sevice in the restaurant. enjoyed entertainment except the Bingo! The bedroom a little old fashioned but clean, and the bed was comfortable, also the bath and shower was lovely and clean. All in all a great place to stay and explore Durham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank derfbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay.
I think the bingo is a Marmite moment, love or hate, but we do have to cater for all our guests and it only takes up half an hour of the night’s entertainment.
All your comments will be passed on to the staff and they will be much appreciated.
I look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
G M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel at first view was really good ,it looked just like in the brochure,the staff were really very helpful and courteous,nothing was any bother,the food was very good & well presented by friendly staff,the entertainment was very good & everybody on reception helped us extremely well ,so I would like to take this opportunity to say a very big thank you to every one at the Eden arm hotel.

Room Tip: Seeing as I am disabled they gave us a room on the ground floor it was nice & quiet,we will cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments about your stay at the Eden Arms.
Your feed back will be passed on to all the staff and will show that all their hard work is appreciated.
We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
G M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the comfort and convenience of this hotel.
It has a lot going for it regards amenities and dining. The leasure centre is clean, warm and well equipt and the dining rooms and bars are clean and comfortable.
What made it really pleasant was the service provided in the dining room. The manageress could not have been more helpful and attentive.
I award it top marks for value for money as the only negative aspect was the room decor. A bit jaded.
Would go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments; these will be passed on to all the staff and show that thier hard work is appreciated.
We are in the process of guest room and public area refurbishment. But as you will appreciate, this is a ongoing process that takes time and to no inconvenience to our guests.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Quaint hotel and good value for money with Shearing deals.
Was kept waiting at reception for 20 Mins. Room was spacious and clean but tv didn't work and no biscuits.
Missed the evenings entertainment as one.of the managers was sorting out the dodgy tv with another one, she was brilliant and helpful.
One girl on the bar staff, young large built girl was never at the bar when I went and left me waiting 15 mins plus them no apology when served me!!!
Food really good and restaurant staff great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kt-tinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I have investigated your comments on the waiting time at reception and bar and can find no explanation as to why this occurred. We all put a very high value on customer care, so i can only extend my apologises that on this occasion, we didn`t meet our own high standards.
There was no need for you to miss our nightly entertainment, the faulty TV was replaced as soon as you reported it and shouldn`t have interfered with your enjoyment of our facilities.
Unfortunately at time of your visit, we were waiting for parts to repair the steam room control valve. As you are more than aware, steam rooms can be dangerous places unless well managed and monitored. If there is ever a concern to H&S of users, we always close down untill safe to use.
I hope this response shows that we take your comments seriously and arwe striving to improve our service to our guests and members.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
G M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
8.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Property: Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing