We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

January 2008. Just returned from a weekend at the Eden Arms Hotel - the hotel was a nice surprise and excellent value for money. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and delicious food. Will be returning in the near future.
50th birthday weekenders.

  • Liked — Excellent food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glendacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    155
    92
    35
    23
See reviews for
53
227
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for a weekend in Durham principally cos it was cheap thru Lastminute and secondly that as it was a Swallow Hotel I thought it would be up together. Whilst we were there I needed to keep reminding myself that it was only £50 for a double ensuite although the room was in desperate need of refurbishment, not terribly clean, and mould on the tile grouting & bath edges in the bathroom. However it was warm & there was plenty of hot water. Money has been spent on a pool and sauna facilities which seems a bit bizarre considering the general state of the place including holes in the upholstery in chairs in the public areas. However despite all that the staff that we met were all very helpful and looked after us well. Food in the restaurant was OK and we thought the buffet breakfast was excellent. Good access off the motorway & to Durham City - would we stay there again? Not if we could get a room elsewhere for a half reasonable price.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank PedroBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

I had to go back to the NE at short notice for a family event and needed a place to stay for the night. The single room I was given was tiny but the bathroom was clean and a big plus was that there was a proper ironing board in the room.

Welcome was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Cooked breakfast was included in the price and was fine.

Overall The Eden Arms was good value for money, but somewhere I'd go when on my own rather than with the wife.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeoffLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

I read reviews on this hotel before I went so was surprised when i walked into the lobby and saw panelled walls, big paintings at the staircase and lots of period style chairs but the rooms though are very shabby and dated, the shower did not work very well and brown blankets are never good.

The staff were friendly enough though, the food was ok and with the leisure facilities I feel at the cheap price I paid it was value for money

  • Liked — A welcome dip in the pool
  • Disliked — too much shabby to be chic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank elllen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

I liked this place. The thing I like about Durham is that is fairly quiet (although lots of the Brits there said it is a bit different when the students are in town!), and I think this hotel respects that. To be sure it had all the quaint British feel to it, but somehow just felt a bit... wrong.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank nadz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Stayed here on a vist to Durham in May 2007. Staff friendly but hotel in desperate need of a make over. Initally room allocated was very small, and we couldn't move as the hotel was full - but moved after a couple of nights to a large four poster room which was lovely (although again in need of some attention decor wise).

Bar prices expensive £2 for a pint of lime and soda. We didn't eat in the restaurant but other peoples comments made it clear that service was chaotic.

Good to have the leisure facilites - but again in need of some attention - changing facilies dated. Not much in the local vicinity to eat out - but would highy recommend the Honest Lawyer on the road into Durham (approx 5 miles) food was excellant and good value.

If you are visiting Beamish ask the reception for a voucher you will save £5 each on the admission.

Overall average/poor hotel made acceptable by friendly staff.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms in need of a major makeover
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire , England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Id stayed at this hotel few years go and wouldn`t have gone again through my own choce but laterooms had messed my booking up with another hotel in the area and they had booked me into the Eden Arms instead
The staff at the hotel were all really friendly and attentive and couldnt do enough for me . The room I had was clean and spacious with a good sized fairly modern bathroom .

I didnt eat in the restaurant but had a bar snack which was good value but not exceptional , again bar staff v`chatty and very helpful .

Main gripe is the location as it is in the middle of no where which is probably ideal for tourists but in my case i was on business and it meant having to jump in the car for the evening to get anywhere , no where local to walk to fro a drink .

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
8.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Property: Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing