We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a wonderful place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Home House

A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Home House from the garden Heated swimming pool all year round
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A beautiful thatched Devon longhouse with pool.
Home House from the garden
Heated swimming pool all year round
Swimming pool
Large kitchen table for family and friends
Cosy up to the Aga!
Sitting room with log burner for those cool winter days
Plenty of seating for everyone
Catch up with a movie in the film room
Alternative sitting room
Visit Home House at a special time of year
Game of pool anyone?
A landing with a difference!
Master bedroom with stained glass window
Master bedroom en-suite
Downstairs double
Downstairs double en-suite with walk in shower
Double bedroom
En-suite shower room to double bedroom
Double bedroom
En-suite to double bedroom
Twin bedroom with en-suite loo and wash basin
Twin bedroom (next to master bedroom)
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Summer house
Cream tea anyone?
Sun room
View of the garden from the summer house
View to the estuary from the village
Local coastline
Local walk along the estuary
Boating fun
Coombe Cellars - a favourite destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MichaelM9...
1 review
“Such a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

For a friends birthday celebrations we decided to escape to the countryside for a long weekend. Home house offered the perfect getaway, with welcoming owners and a wonderful property (with an indoor heated pool.. Great!) only 100 yards from the local village pub which we frequented most nights. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and anyone else who's looking for a welcoming and friendly place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Make sure you factor in the deposit as part of the cost as the is a good chance it won't be returned.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A little tatty in places but generally ok, and although a little overpriced, the surrounding area more than makes up for any downfalls in the cottage itself. We did in fact have a pleasant week and left discussing a return the following year. On leaving the owners were away on holiday, and no one was available to do a leaving check, we complied with all the leaving requests in the book and took photographs of the property. A week after our return we received an email from the owners, which we at first believed to be a joke advising that the cottage had been left in a terrible state and listing a number of problems - non of which we could relate to. We asked for dated photographic evidence, photos were sent, but no dated evidence - meaning that they could have been taken anytime as we were advised ours could have been. Our only conclusion is that the cleaners or other person had had some kind of party in between us leaving and the owners return - the other alternative would mean deliberate fraudulent activity.
Having worked incredibly hard to save the money for the only holiday of the year for myself and my son - it has been massively soured by the allegations made, for both myself and my holiday companions.
Please make sure if you decide to stay at Home House that you take dated photographs of everything on your arrival and departure (including mattresses). I would not wish the distress caused by this to spoil anyone else's holiday memories.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
We are sorry that we had to withhold the security deposit on this occasion. We have owned and let 2 holiday homes for a total of 7 years and in this time we have never withheld any other security deposits - clearly we would not make this statement if we thought there was a risk that a previous guest might contradict us on Trip Advisor. We have had the same excellent and well trusted cleaners for the past 3 years who manage the house if ever we are away - we have never needed to have a formal “leaving check” as our guests usually treat Home House with respect. We have many guests who love to come back and who repeat book each year – this is what we strive for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive C
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great family holiday”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Home House is a beautiful home extremely well equipped, clean and spacious with a lovely garden, something for everyone. A family gathering from the age of 2yrs to 70yrs we all enjoyed the walks from Combeinteignhead to Stokeinteignhead and to Shaldon. Plenty of places of interest to visit just a short drive away along with local beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness and relaxation
Liked least: Just to be aware of the stone steps with young toddlers.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant break away with friends. Excellent location and cosy cottage.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I organised a surprise birthday gathering for my mums 50th for 14 people. The cottage was very spacious and the rooms were really cosy. We loved spending time the lounge and in front of the log fire. We had lots of fun in the pool enjoyed the games room and the cinema room. Plenty to do to keep all ages entertained. We are planning on going back again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing