We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good American Southern food, reasonable prices”
Review of Po' Folks

Po' Folks
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Marianna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MIAMI
Level Contributor
814 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Good American Southern food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are lots of American food choices from fried everything( fish, chicken , shrimp, potatoes), meat loaf, salads, sandwiches, Southern veggies (fried okra, turnip greens, mac and cheese, green beans,corn on cob,), etc. We had the white fish dinner, grilled instead of fried ,and it was as good as it gets, It was served over rice, with a choice of 2 veggies, and either 2 hush puppies, corn bread or biscuit. Corn bread was nothing special, We also had fried clams which were tasty and not greasy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    34
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came to Pofolks to celebrate Mr. Dewey Wells 62nd birthday today. We had a great time being there and a food was really great. Thanks Pofolks for making us feel welcomed and being patient with us too. God bless you all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefPenny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Anywhere would be better! Terrible food! Terrible service!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our server was friendly which in no way made up for all the issues with this place or her forgetfulness. It took 40 minutes to get any food on the table!!! One would think great, this is going to be fresh. It was disgusting.

I ordered the country fried steak, mashed potatoes and mac and cheese. The mac and cheese is right out of the box disgusting. The potatoes were so stiff I picked them up with a butter knife. YES, the entire serving came out of the bowl with a butter knife!!!

My friend ordered the chicken salad sandwich on toasted bread and french fries. The sandwich was served on a cold roll. The fries were brought to the table after the other food like 40 minutes wasn't long enough to fry french fries. Really??? We asked for ketchup which we never got and the fries were not touched. That was probably the best thing on the table and we couldn't eat them because steak fries are not good without ketchup.

Our server with the fake friendly personality, got a zero tip from me! She can't help bad food from the kitchen but, she was off talking to someone while we watched the fries get cold. We even had to ask another server to get her to bring our ticket so we could leave this place. Our servers name is Felicia. Obviously she doesn't realize that I don't feel obligated to leave a tip. A tip is to insure proper service and that we did not get.

If you see this place, keep driving. Sonny's or Arby's would be a better alternative!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eat somewhere else!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was near our hotel, it was late, they were open and we were hungry. Big mistake. Service was awful--- server didn't seem to know anything about the menu. Food was flavorless and barely warm. And a roach crawled up the wall next to us. Gross place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Techie_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must stop when traveling Interstate 10”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am a group leader taking many motorcoach trips westward on I-10 and I make it a special point to stop at Po' Folks each and every time. Why? The food is fantastic and the price is right. If traveling this interstate particularly on Sundays, make sure you stop as they have all you can eat buffet featuring many ways chicken can be prepared plus other dishes. My last trip was back in April heading for New Orleans.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po' Folks also viewed

Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Po' Folks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing