We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat somewhere else!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Po' Folks

Po' Folks
Ranked #27 of 53 Restaurants in Marianna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eat somewhere else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was near our hotel, it was late, they were open and we were hungry. Big mistake. Service was awful--- server didn't seem to know anything about the menu. Food was flavorless and barely warm. And a roach crawled up the wall next to us. Gross place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Techie_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    34
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must stop when traveling Interstate 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am a group leader taking many motorcoach trips westward on I-10 and I make it a special point to stop at Po' Folks each and every time. Why? The food is fantastic and the price is right. If traveling this interstate particularly on Sundays, make sure you stop as they have all you can eat buffet featuring many ways chicken can be prepared plus other dishes. My last trip was back in April heading for New Orleans.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We came with a group of 8 on a road trip. It is right off the highway so we decided to stop for a break. The restrooms were pretty dusty on the stall doors and the gum ball machine also sent out dusty gum balls. The waitresses were kind and told us about kids eating free on Wednesday's. I ordered the fried chicken and it took a reasonable amount of time to come out. It was OK, but lacked seasoning and the pieces were small. My son got chicken strips but didn't even eat a whole one, they weren't crunchy. The mashed potatoes were instant and a little cold. This isn't a place we would really care to return to anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bessiemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nothing special, Fried, Fried, Fried.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to a Po Folks before, we were traveling through Marianna and thought we would give it a try. The menu consists of mostly fried southern style cooking. If you are hungry, you will get plenty of food to fill an empty stomach. Our meals were not bad, and arrived at the table nice and hot. Our waitress was pretty decent at keeping our drinks filled and getting our food to us. The decor needs a little help or remodeling. It did not present the cleanest atmosphere ever. I was fairly happy with the price. It was about 50 dollars for 5 people. I can't bash the place, but I can't say I would run back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dovernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
830 reviews
641 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet - Is the best around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A bus-load of seniors arrived, and the staff at Po'Folks made us feel right at home. Very helpful, and effecient. The buffet was LOADED, collar greens are the best around, while the chicken, the fish, ham, were all plentiful. Rest rooms clean, but I can't say enough about the staff. Thank you for a great buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po' Folks also viewed

Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Po' Folks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing