We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar-B-Q!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Bar-B-Q!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent as expected. Good service, good food, convenient to I-10. I had the pulled pork sandwich and a baked sweet potato, the same meal I had at another Sonny's in Tallahassee to compare. It was like night to day and this was a 100 percent better experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“always excellent”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

never had a bad meal here. wings ribs and sandwiches are always perfect. can be very crowded on saturday evenings but always worth it. is a chain but this locale is consistently the better one. bathrooms are always a mess though, been that way for years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sonny's BBQ”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have not tried Sonnys in several years so we decided to give it a try again. First trip was a pleasant surprise. Ordered a drive threw order, lady at the window was very nice and efficient. Food was very good! Second trip the next week threw the drive threw again, service very good but chicken was not done around the bones and had a real liquid smoke smell to it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I split the combo meal, $13, so we had a bit
of everything, sliced brisket, pulled pork, 2 ribs, & chicken. the chicken was dry but all had great flavor! The cornbread was super moist, broccoli not overcooked, loved the baked sweet potato. This was more than enough food for 2 people! Allie was our waitress. They didn't have cherry coke but she made one and was so cute worried she didn't do it right but it was perfect & so was she!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilnKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Ok, but the food looks a far cry from the pics!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The servers are friendly and efficient. The food is ok, but it is kind of a sit down fast food variety. Although we were there just after noon, the sides were all over cooked. The baby back ribs were good with lots of choices of sauces. All of the food looks like it is just thrown on the plates. The bathroom was dirty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing