We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the rough”
Review of The Oaks

The Oaks
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is a gem. The food is always fresh when we eat there. The wait staff are incredibly nice and always smiling. They make you feel welcomed. Service is great and fast! The fried shimp are huge! delicious! The catfish is fab also. yes, we will most definitely go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzieart2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real Southern Food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

There are some vegtables from a can, but mostly homemade items. Fresh peas, mac & cheese, cream corn, fresh okra, fried chicken, porkchops, country fried steak...I could go on and on. The catfish filets are the best I've ever had. This is a great lunch buffett. It was so good, we went two days in a row. For the two of us the price was about $19.00, not bad for granny style cooking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marde31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch. Large all you can eat buffet, full of southern comfort food. The buffet was kept well stocked while we were there and the food was fresh and hot. Very good lunch spot. Despite being very busy we were kept well served with drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fireball7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT fried shrimp”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Saw so many poor reviews for Tallahassee that we decided to stop in Marianna instead. This is real America folks. Down home, good people and good food. I had a 12 oz Prime Rib, very nice. My husband had too many jumbo shrimp to eat. Lightly breaded. Flavorful. I WILLINGLY helped and we still took some with us. Excellent sweet potato fries. Interesting, large selection on the salad bar (but it was ice burg lettuce). Nothing fancy about this place located in a strip mall, but we were happy to have gone there. Oh. And my husband who is a shrimp fanatic said, "These were the best shrimp I've had in my life." High praise from a 63 year old who grew up on the Gulf!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Recipe4Success777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful! A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

While our first choice for dinner was closed, I have to admit we were a bit disappointed yet so delighted to find The Oaks Restaurant. Followed by a friendly greeting from Mr. Davis, the service was outstanding. Since the name on the sugar dish said "Rochelle", we think that was the name of our server. She was oh so very pleasant and attentive making sure we enjoyed our meal. And, we did! It was was absolutely delicious! The grilled jumbo shrimp was the best I've ever had and the salad bar was so fresh with a wide array of selections. The Oaks Restaurant will definitely be our first choice when visiting the Marianna area again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oaks also viewed

Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing