We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cave”

Florida Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Marianna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cave complete with rock formations and bats.
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Cave”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stopped here on our drive from Tampa to New Orleans. It was very nice although we made a point to get here early after reading stories of selling out all of the tours.

There were some very interesting cave formations and a nice interpretive center above the gift shop. The volunteers in the interpretive center were very nice and wanted to explain all of the cave formations to my son. The movie was also interesting.

The tour was about 45 min. and was very interesting. I've been in a variety of caves around the country and I would consider this one average. There are lots of nice formations that are in good condition. The ground is slippery and sometimes not level in the cave. I wouldn't recommend this for those with balance issues or the elderly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank linochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    194
    23
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cool Florida Caverns”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A few miles off I-10 in Marianna (FL) you can escape the highway for a few hours at Florida Caverns State Park. This park is a very popular place and if you plan to visit the caverns, please call ahead to see if tours are still available for the day. The last time we didn't and wasn't able to view them. Fortunately we had been there several times and still enjoyed the trails and picnic stop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spelunking!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our second attempt to get in to the caves. The first time, we drove for five hours, arrived too late and all the tours for the day were full.
They only take 25 people, which makes the hour tour very pleasant. Get there early. We were there when the doors opened and we still had to wait an hour. No reservations taken and closed a couple of days during the week, so check their website.
That being said, my husband and I try to see underground caverns where ever we go and these did not disappoint. Great tour guide and some of the most varied and interesting formations we have ever seen. Wish the weather was better and we could have done more in the park. There is a lot to offer here.
There is an admission charge of $8 in addition to the park entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Heizzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting unique experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Drove up two hours from Tallahassee, what's cool is that the time changes west of the Apalachicola River (when you enter the "Panhandle" from "the Big Bend") so you technically get there half hour after you leave. Super cool tours leave every half hour - suggest to bring a picnic so you can also see some of the trails in this beautiful park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Natimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice little off highway trip”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a nice cavern ...I have been to another that was more spectacular but this is certainly very nice. The tour is guided so you must wait for your specific time allotted you by ticket and that could take time.....other cavern that I visited was not guided and you could leisurely go through the cavern.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkSpiritTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Caverns State Park also viewed

 
Marianna, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Florida Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing