We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food made by great people”

Fins 'n' Flukes Ocean View Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Pangai
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food made by great people”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Fins n Flukes for a week and had most of our meals there. The food was really good, dessert irresistible every night. My partner thought he was going to be on a diet while there, thinking it was gonna be hard to find a good place to eat, he was gonna live on fruit bla bla, well his "diet" became the joke and just impossible with a Chef bringing you delicious food every meal. Graham and the staff are stars, always kind and helpful and ready to cook up something, even when we were bloody late! We loved it, had a lot of fun there and recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Tasty and lots of options”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice atmosphere with tables looking out to see and plenty of other travellers to swap whale stories with. The chef, Graham, is always cheerful and happy to provide as much as he can (island ingredients permitting!). We stayed at Fins n Flukes for 12 nights and ate here every time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great wholesome home cooked food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When you're on an island far away from any kind of civilisation where the options for food are limited, it was awesome to realise that I was staying somewhere that had a top Welsh chef called Graham who knocked up the best grub for miles around!!
There were different options to choose from every day for dinner including local fish, chicken, curries, pasta bakes, meatballs - even bangers and mash with gravy! They have a burger menu with all types of burgers to choose from with homemade burger patties and home cut fries. They have also got their own stone bake pizza oven which make perfect yummy pizza's with a variety of toppings/flavours.
All ingredients are fresh and the portion sizes were very generous and I thought every meal I had was great value for money and tasted amazing! We also had the choice of dessert (coconut pie was my favourite!) with the option of ice cream on the side :)
The lunch time menu consisted of sandwiches, toasties and omelettes and for breakfast, (although the continental option was included in our room rates) Graham was happy to whip up anyone bacon and eggs.
There was also a great selection of drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and I recommend trying the Kalimotxo!
The setting is beautiful and couldn't be in a more idyllic place by the beach where you can watch sunsets and look out for breaching whales. The tables are thoughtfully set out and decorated in the evenings. One evening there was a power cut but this caused no drama's for Graham and the staff, and food was served as usual by candlelight and strategically placed torches. It was great!
The best thing about this restaurant is that you don't have to be staying at Fins n Flukes to visit it so make sure that even if you are not staying there that you go and try Grahams wholesome home cooked food - you will not be disappointed. Everyone working there is extremely friendly and accommodating and you will want to spend your whole holiday there!
10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisapizzapie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“friendly oceanfront restaurant”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Graham does very well with the limited ingredients he can get from the local market. He is an amazing guy who goes out of his way to accommodate guests. He even made us an Ulster Fry (a Northern Irish staple on a Sunday morning), complete with potato bread. I am a vegetarian and Graham manage to always come up with something to please my taste buds!
His pizzas are delicious as are the fresh cut and cooked chips! Veggie curries, delicious creamed coconut pie which incorporates grated coconut obtained the tradition Tongan way. The coconut is opened skillfully by Falee-ask in he morning and they will stick a young coconut in the fridge for you and once diving/swimming is done for the day you can enjoy it on one of Fins'N'Flukes many hammocks along the beach front-really a little taste of paradise. Once you have sucked out all the juice they open it up for you to devour the delicious, tender insides!
The food served here is the best value available on the weekend. One day we went for a cycle to the other end of the island-we ordered a pizza there which looked amazing but didn't live up to Graham's I'm afraid.
My meat and fish eating friends were very happy with the meals and burgers provided. The company is always good and everyone shares tales of their day's experiences.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irelandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins 'n' Flukes Ocean View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fins 'n' Flukes Ocean View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing