We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kajon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kajon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Creevagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent a night at Kajon House in May and only regret it couldn't have been a longer stay.
Our room was clean and cozy, the bed was very comfortable.
But what made this stay so very special was the warm hospitality offered by Kate and John, such kind and welcoming hosts.
We had the pleasure of dining at Kajon House that evening and my husband and I are still taking about the amazing dinner we had--delicious food, thoughtfully prepared, beautifully presented. Both Kate and John are gourmet chefs!
We enjoyed a relaxed visit with them. They have a wealth of stories to share from their various experiences and they love their location, the Shannon can be seen from their dining room window, and are eager to that love with their guests.
Kate and John have a gift for gracious hospitality and we feel blessed to have experienced it.
We wish them a successful summer season and we'll continue to dream of a return trip!
ET

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaFiVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
115
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We came to this house late on our second night of travelling in Ireland. Kate gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel right at home! Her and her husband were funny, sincere and simply made us smile. The room was clean and cozy with a lovely view of the bog. Breakfast was great and Kate even gave us some scones for our journey the next day! A must stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_a_lam_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludenscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This year I spent my 18th time at Kajon House. But it is not just Kajon House - this is Kate & John - hospitality at it´s best.

Every time returning to them it´s like coming home. It is always the last night on my holidays. It is the greatest place to end the holiday in Ireland. They are incredible.

The two welcomes you as if you be a friend for years even for the first time. The start is homemade scones and cakes with a cup of tea. Followed by a great diner, because of the fantastic cooking by John. Afterwards you relaxe in the guest-lounge.

And the topping is the unforgetable breakfast with bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomato and the best pancakes you can imagine.

If you go to Ireland you have to go to Kajon House. I´m looking forward to see these best hosts you can have again.

Thanks to Kate & John for being part of my life!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altena, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Kate and John give you a very warm welcome and we feel like coming home every time we stay at Kajon House. We got an excellent evening diner and spent some time in the lounge with it's fantastic seats. Kate and John love to meet people and talk to them. We spend always our last night with Kate and John. That is a fantastic end of the trip. After we enjoyed an excellent breakfast it was time to go home. But we will come back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Kay and John are very welcoming. It's like walking in through the door of an old friend who you've not seen for years. Their place is extremely comfortable and well thought out to make a stay easy, with lots of little touches - we loved the individual electric blankets. We also had dinner with them. They obviously had lots of repeat visitors and, and collected loads of awards over the years. We can see why.

Just up the road from the ancient site at Clonmacnoise: if you're going there, don't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at Kajon House for two days in March of 2014 and were very happy with the room and our hosts. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. We also booked dinner and had a delicious meal on both nights. Kate&John also managed to work around our daughter's food allergies just fine. All in all, we had a great time with our kind, cheerful hosts at this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 853Elisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We did not get the pleasure of staying at Kajon House for more than a few hours but I can attest to the kindness and true goodness of it's proprietors. We got a flat tire leaving beautiful Clonmacnoise on a bank holiday. The car rental company wasn't picking up the phone and the tire iron provided didn't fit our tire and we were stuck. John came to our rescue not only finding us a tire iron but assisting with the tire change all while offering me tea and use of his telephone in his dapper well appointed kitchen. It was no surprise to find friendliness in his wonderful country but the proprietors of Kajon house go out of their way to help travelers in need. I can only imagine the kind of comfort offered to those that stay under their roof. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixtape1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creevagh
9.1 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballinasloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
12.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kajon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kajon House B&B

Property: Kajon House B&B
Address: Creevagh | Clonmacnoise, Creevagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Creevagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Creevagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy, friendly and homely B&B recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Le Guide de Routard, Rough Guide and ADAC. Centre of Ireland location, overlooking the beautiful River Shannon, two minutes from historical settlement of Clonmacnoise. Full Irish breakfast and homemade scones and tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kajon House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing