We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home-cooking and the best local knowledge!”
Review of Kajon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kajon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Creevagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good home-cooking and the best local knowledge!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Kate and John are the perfect hosts - Kate offering a warm welcome and freshly made scones on arrival, and John with his knowledge about the fabulous site of Clonmacnoise just down the road.

The electric blanket on the bed was a nice touch on a cool September night, and my request at breakfast for porridge followed by poached eggs (neither on tne menu) didn't phase Kate, who produced both to perfection.

I don't believe you could find a more comfortable or more convenient place to stay close to these world-famous ruins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
117
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to Clonmacnoise for the Youth 2000 Prayer Festival last month (August) and had the good fortune to stay with Kate and John at their B&B in Creevagh, Clonmacnoise. Their hospitality is second to none. The food is all home cooked, including home baked scones, bread and delicious cakes of all kinds. The rooms are lovely and bright and cheerful (like Kate and John themselves!) If you come to Ireland and would like to visit the old monastic site of Clonmacnoise, you've just got to stay in Kajon House... it will add tonnes more fun to your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandRoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WpgCanuck
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would like to echo the comments from everyone. This was a terrific experience with gracious hosts who could not have made us feel more at home. Kate & Jon are very knowledgeable about the area and were especially helpful in advising us on what to see . Rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were delicious. Try some of Kate's scones and you will want to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WpgCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Kajon House B&B is within walking distance of the Clonmacnoise. Jon and Kate are amazing hosts. Each appear to thoroughly enjoy getting to know their guests. Kate has a collection of hats that line the perimeter of the dining area, which she has received as tokens of esteem from guests. She is an excellent baker - so save room for some fresh breads and baked goods. They both are a delight and will make you feel quite at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I were in Ireland for two weeks in July and of all the B&B's that we saw and stayed in, this was definitely the best. We felt at home after a couple of minutes. Kate welcomed us with a cup of tea and a slice of tasty homemade cake and was as friendly as a host can be. Here you learn Irish hospitality at its best, we just surrendered 
The view from the breakfast room is great, the rooms (we got the biggest one ) are comfortable, clean and well decorated. The breakfast was great, and flexible if you are a vegetarian! The B&B is perfectly located if you want to visit Clonmacnoise, we walked there the next morning.
Thank you Kate and John and Cara

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family, John and Kate, in a beautiful B&B
I changed my route just to meet them again.
One of the very few places were I feel like at my home
You can't miss it
Surrounding site is beautiful too with the famous Clonmacnoise at just 2 kilometer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Friendly and funny. Very nice.
Excelent service and food.
The owners are funny and help where they can.
The rooms are large and clean.
We liked it and are very happy, that we found such a good B&B. It is on the countyside and the landscape is very beautyful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creevagh
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,840 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
749 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
7.8 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
7.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kajon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kajon House B&B

Property: Kajon House B&B
Address: Creevagh | Clonmacnoise, Creevagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Creevagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Creevagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy, friendly and homely B&B recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Le Guide de Routard, Rough Guide and ADAC. Centre of Ireland location, overlooking the beautiful River Shannon, two minutes from historical settlement of Clonmacnoise. Full Irish breakfast and homemade scones and tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kajon House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing