We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”
Review of Clonabreany House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crossakiel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clonabreany House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had our wedding, along with 170 of our friends & family here on 2nd June 2012. We were absolutely delighted with our day - the venue, the staff, the food were all top class. I completely agree with all the excellent comments/reviews left here. Its a wonderful place & we've received only positive feedback from our guests. Even in the rain, Clonabreany House looked great and we had the best day. Thanks a million to everyone involved. Caroline & Fiachra

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Myself, wife and daughter stayed at Clonabreany House on Thursday 30th August for my niece's wedding reception.
It is set in a beautiful location.
The meal and entertainment were excellent.
Guests were treated well from arrival until departure.
Snacks and drinks before the main meal were excellent.
We experienced a couple of problems with our room The first problem was the lack of an ensuite shower and toilet.
Staff were unable to help us to sort this out.
We were of the opinion that there was plenty of room to provide an ensuite, as the toilet was next door (No shower here. It was upstairs).We felt that for the price charged,an ensuite in each bedroom is an absolute must.
The second problem was noise from other rooms.We could hear people talking in a couple of other rooms.
Apart from this problem area, everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Insist on receiving a room with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MC823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our daughter and son-in-law had their wedding celebrations in Clonabreany House on 18th August 2012. We had great expectations for the occasion as Clonabreany House came highly recommended. We were not disappointed. The sun shone, the venue looked amazing, the food and wine was superb, and the service was world class. The accommodation in the Courtyard cottages were of 5 star quality. The festivities continued into the next day with beautiful cooked breakfasts in the morning followed by a barbecue in the afternoon and plenty of ceol agus craic in the quaint Butlers Rest - the small pub onsite. Both my husband and I could find no fault with this wonderful venue and have no problem recommending it. We extend our thanks and appreciation to all the staff in Clonabreany House for making our daughters wedding day so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had our wedding in Clonabreany House on the 16th March, (I am a little late with my review). Around the time of booking our wedding, Clonabreany was a relatively new venue and I could find few reviews on it. However this did not matter once we had visited it as no where else can compare to its style, location, friendliness, layout etc. If you are looking for a intimate location and a marque style wedding this is the place for you! A lot of our guests travelled over 45 minutes from our church to the venue however everyone commented it was worth the journey. The food was gorgeous having chosen exactly what we wanted to serve with help from the chef Gerard. We received so many compliments about the food, staff and the overall venue and especially the cottages. Ali and Katie were always on hand before the wedding to sort anything needed! I would love to do it all again in Clonabreany House....

Thank you Clonabreany for making my marque wedding dream come through!

Sinead & Shaun

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SineadCoMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I attended my friends wedding at Clonabreaney House in May 2012, and stayed overnight in one of the guesthouses in the Courtyard. We were very impressed with every aspect of our stay....
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was of a very high standard and the accommodation was faultless, we stayed in a double room in one of the cottages, they are very modernly furnished with a full kitchen / living room.
The wedding was held in a marquee off the main house, but it was very easy to forgot that you were in a marquee as it was so elaborately furnished.
After the wedding we went over to the shibin bar in the courtyard, which is both comfortable and homely.
The breakfast next morning was more than ample, again served by staff who could not do more for you if they tried.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Clonabreaney House to any of my friends, and it certainly left a lasting impression on us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doris75fp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had our wedding at Clonabreany House on Saturday 23rd June, We would like to say a huge Thank you to all the staff, they were amazing. Ali and Katie were a great help and were always on hand to give advise on the run up to the big day. All our guests commented on the fabulous venue, very friendly staff and great food. We had a great day, stayed for the wend. The accomodation was also fabulous. If anyone is thinking of having their wedding there I would highly recommend it. Its so intimate. Pauline was a great host over the weekend and really made everyone feel at home she was great. First class venue and we would love to do it all again!!! I wouldn't change anything. Thank you for making our day so special.
Nicola & Ronan

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Fresh orange juice.... Wow...
Just come from an extraordinary 24 hours at Clonabreany House.
This is a wonderful refuge for the weary and the bewildered!
Was greeted with fresh orange juice at breakfast, after a wonderful
Wedding day.

Clonabreany House is a serious address and worked tirelessly to ensure a 5 Star
day for the Bride & Groom.

This was Clonabreany’s 100th Wedding this year and I’m not surprised that it is a
favourite for young love i.e. Brides and Grooms...

To Niall Daly, the Proprietor who has a marvellous vision in assembling a beautiful location
and has engaged possibly the best two food and hospitality people in the country...
Gerry Meade (Chef) is listed in Eurotoque and that membership doesn't come easy.

The glue for the day was Pauline Fairchild, who is one of the great exponents of hospitality.
She literally was everywhere delivering a first class product.

Even the security boys gave added value, with wonderful courtesy and humour.


All in all, I was hugely impressed and the experience has brought a cheer to this dark, dank day in Dublin.

Well Done to Clonabreany.






mastered

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossakiel
7.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
666 reviews
5.5 mi away
Oldcastle House Hotel
Oldcastle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oldcastle
20 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
15.9 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
418 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonabreany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonabreany House

Address: Crossakiel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Crossakiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Crossakiel
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irish Country House and Estate 'exclusively yours' for parties, weddings, short-breaks and events. It is located in the breath-taking Loughcrew hills beside the heritage town of Kells in Ireland's beautiful and magical Ancient East. Just one hour from Dublin. Clonabreany House consists of two magnificently restored Georgian houses, a beautifully restored courtyard containing 10 self contained self-catering houses which can sleep over 80 people, a cosy sibín bar, a banqueting hall catering for up to 60 people and a luxurious private bridal suite and a grand marquee with bar, dancing and dining facilities catering for up to 220. Located less than 2km from Crossakiel and less than 6 km from Oldcastle. Clonabreany is a one hour drive from Dublin on the new M3 motorway ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing