We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasions only”
Review of Tara Steak and Lobster House - CLOSED

Tara Steak and Lobster House
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1998, Tara Steak & Lobster House has been a favorite with locals and visitors alike for what Zagat respondents rate “the best porterhouse around” and our 200+ bottle of annually recognized Wine Spectator Award of Excellence wine list.Famed for serving classic steakhouse fare, in casually sophisticated setting, one can expect to indulge in hand-cut dry-aged steaks, fresh Maine lobster, seafood and delicate chops complimented by homemade sides, decadent desserts and a view to satiate the eyes.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Special occasions only”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, good location, but a little on the pricey side. Good for a special occasion though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NancyJan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    19
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great summer specials and beautiful view”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and i have been there twice and enjoyed it both times. They have a good summer special menu where you get a 3 course dinner with a glass of house wine for $28pp. I've gotten the bone-in 12 oz sirloin both times and both times it was perfectly done and very good quality beef. My wife got the chicken piccata both time and love it as well. first time the service was a bit too quick, but this time (young lady's name is Beth), the service was superb. This is a very nice place and I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddysdad0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good steaks and drinks.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great bar tender Joe. Does a good job and very knowledgeable. Staff friendly, ate at the Bar since Joe took such good care of us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank schwabbooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing and delicious dinner at Tara's from start to finish. The steak and seafood were prepared perfectly. We loved every dish we ordered. They have a fantastic selection of wines as well. We highly recommend dinner at Tara's whenever you are in Marco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k0849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place...decent service...decent food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you arrive, the inside decor reminds you of a very fine dining establishment...unfortunately, that thought is about the only remnant of fine dining (other than the prices). We arrived at 7 with reservations and were promptly greeted and seated. Our server was very attentive at first as we were his only table-however, as the night progressed, he had many other tables (maybe too many) and it took some time to get his attention. We shared 2 appetizers that were average in taste and flavor. I had the surf and turf (lobster and filet). Lobster was pretty good-cooked well and flavorful. However, the steak was dry. For a steakhouse, I would have expected more-especially for $65. My family felt the same about their food-average but more was expected for such a nice place and the price. The view is very nice here if you sit outside or next to the windows but not sure we would return based on the average experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midtwnjockguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Steak and Lobster House also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing