We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Doreen's Cup of Joe
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I had the crab cake eggs benedict and it was amazing...the hollandaise sauce was light and full of flavor. The crab cakes were full of crab and not filler. And last, but not least, the arugala with apples salad that accompanies the benedict complimented the dish perfectly. I will definitely be back to try the bacon waffles, amongst other things!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    220
    55
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong, breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

First let me tell you this location is immaculate, every corner of the place. Someone here cares about cleanliness and how customers are treated. Greeted warmly both of our visits on this short vacation. Their menu has a wide variety of pancakes, skillets, French toast, eggs and sides. It will take you a while to go through. Lots of fruit options cooked in, and on selections. they also bake a limited quantity of muffins and pastry each day. Their croissants are as good as any I have had anywhere.
Coffee is very good and plentiful.
Most of the clientele are local but they do get a fair share of tourist traffic in this smaller size restaurant.
Looking forward to going back someday for the waffles and fried chicken.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Read all reviews on trip advisor and tried Doreen's, NeNe's and Hoots for breakfast. Doreen's was by far the best. It just blew the others away. Atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. I had the Crunchy French Toast (so much better here than at Hoots) and my husband had the skillet (far superior to NeNe's). Don't bother trying anyplace else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was excited when I walked into Doreen's- the rustic chic decor was fabulous and they had a great breakfast menu. Pricing was awesome, but we had a few issues with breakfast. I requested no cheese in my omelette but it came with cheese. My husband asked for American cheese and his came with cheddar. Our waitress was excellent- she noticed mine had cheese right away and asked if I wanted a new one made, which I declined since the cheese was luckily easy to remove. She even took our coffee off the bill to make up for the mistake, which is exactly what a good restaurant does when they make a mistake. However, the waitress did her job, our bill clearly stated no cheese and American cheese for my husbands, so I feel like the chef probably needs to pay a little more attention. Despite the great attention of our waitress, it prevented us from going back another morning and we just stuck with Nene's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseyfoodsnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT crunchy French Toast!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went to Doreen's for breakfast on our anniversary trip to Marco Island in June.
What a fabulous menu and food!! I had their crunch French Toast and it was FABULOUS!!! I highly recommend you try it when you go. My husband had a skillet which was also very good. We took advantage of the cute tables outside and enjoyed the early morning. Service was good and prices were reasonable and worth the value of what you got.
This is for sure a breakfast place to not miss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doreen's Cup of Joe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doreen's Cup of Joe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing