We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Love it - new name, expanded menu”
Review of Chop 239

Chop 239
Ranked #64 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to CHOP 239 on Marco Island.Located within the elegantly appointed Esplanade Shoppes, Chop 239 is soon to be one of Marco Island’s favorite dining destinations for residents and visitors in the know.Offering a diverse menu of fresh seafood, Sterling-silver steaks and chops, plus an impressive wine selection to satisfy all appetites and tastes, our guests will enjoy a relaxed, yet decadent dining experience overlooking Smokehouse Bay.From guest favorite appetizers, like our signature jumbo lump crab cakes, french onion soup and steakhouse wedge, to composed entrée plates of fresh fish, chops and steaks; excellent cuisine marries with gracious service in a casually-sophisticated space. In addition to our diverse menu, we also cater to those seeking light-fare options too, with more than a half dozen small plate dishes served throughout the restaurant and lounge.Wine lovers will enjoy the exposed cellar showcasing our ever-changing selection of wines from around the globe. With over sixty wines available by the stem, novices can indulge and try something new, while aficionados can pair the perfect flight. The adventurous hip-young crowd, the expanding selection of hand-crafted beer, expertly made cocktails and seasonal martinis offer more than a month of choices without duplicationStart your night with Happy Hour from 4:30 – 7:00pm and enjoy ½ priced select seasonal wines by the stem, well cocktails and domestic beer, under Marco Island famous sunset glow. Weekend diners and those looking for a comfortable place to close out the night, will delight in live music starting at 7pm with the Moony Mann band.Whether dining inside in our elegantly appointed dining room overlooking Smokehouse Bay, the covered patio or the granite topped bar, our atmosphere can provide an intimate setting for a special occasion or a socially-engaging happy hour place to have a drink and light bite with friends; making Chop 239 a ‘whatever you are in the mood for’ place.
ny
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still Love it - new name, expanded menu”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have always loved Tara's and the new name and menu is still one of our favorites. The new menu had more complete meals (meat/fish, starch & veg) along with the old favorite ala cart menu. Additionally, the small plates menu which used to be available only in the bar is now available restaurant wide - this is great! We have been there for our old favorites and also some lighter entrees which we were able to enjoy at the beautiful outdoor tables.

My husbands favorite is the NY Strip steak and lobster mac & cheese, mine is the 'damn good spinach" and the salad..... both were delightful.

Service is very nice with friendly and attentive wait staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracieLouNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    49
    28
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived on a busy night and place was fully booked, so we agreed to be seated on patio with heaters. Cool evening and half the patio heaters were not on. Ordered our meals and first course came quickly. Main course took a very long time to arrive. When it did arrive, only 3 of our 4 meals came...mine was missing. So I told the other's to go ahead and start. One of our guest's meal, the grouper, was cold - obviously it had been sitting for a while before it came out. Plus it was overcooked and dry. The other two dinners, beef short ribs were 'good'. About 10 minutes later, my meal arrived - chicken wrapped in prosciutto on pasta. After two bites, it became very apparent it had been microwaved - tough and dry in places, partially uncooked in others. Prosciutto was unrecognizable as prosciutto...soggy and black. Obviously my order was not placed with the others and they had to whip it up quickly. For the first time ever, I left a meal, practically untouched (I ate the broccoli and just enuf pasta to curb hunger). I attribute this experience to overworked servers and a poor chef. Our server noticed my practically untouched meal and was very apologetic and took the cost of the meal off the bill. In a really good restaurant, the server would let the Manager know and the Manager would come and apologize, and offer some type of compensation beyond not charging us for a meal that wasn't edible. Manager was no where to be seen. This place needs some service process improvements, a new chef and an involved and visible Manager. Everyone agreed it was a less than acceptable dinner. Very disappointed and will not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryleegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Had high hopes & the location & sunset view were great, but food was disappointing. Lobster bisque was good, but pretty sure the beets in my salad were from a can. No seasoning on the steaks, & quality of the meat was below average. Steamed veggies were so overcooked (squash) they looked like pickles. Service went from stalking to non-existent. Wasted opportunity given the location.

Helpful?
1 Thank gcupi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Big improvement from Tara's. I have been 3x and all were very good. I had the black grouper twice and a filet the 3rd time . The wine list has nice selections as well. Our server, Michelle was great, we ask for her every time. My husband has ordered the French onion soup every time we went. They have small plate selections which is great for those with smaller appetites. The bar is nice to eat at as well . There is live music and dancing on Friday And Saturday nights in the bar. The bar area is separate from the main dining and outdoor seating so you don't hear the music unless you are in the
bar.

Helpful?
Thank Shelly34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were hoping that this restaurant had reinvented it's self. Service has gotten progressively worse over the years, unfortunately. Tried, again, last night. Very disappointed. Two hours. Steak was good ($88 for a Porterhouse for two, served with a glop of tasteless mashed potatoes, and pan fried zucchini). The manager seems to hide, rather than be proactive! I've eaten there, probably 20 times, starting back when it was Taras, in the old building. Last night was my last, and final.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rtwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop 239 also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chop 239? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing