We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food - delicious and service - wonderful!”
Review of Marco Polo Restaurant LLC - CLOSED

Marco Polo Restaurant LLC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 28, 2011

So glad we decided to eat at Marco Polo! We loved it! The food, service and music were all wonderful. We will definitely do it again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 576 of 621 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just returned from a week on Marco Island. Went out every night for seafood at several local restaurants. However, my travel partner and I came back telling everyone we had the best dinner, service, and experience of our lives at the Marco Polo.

True, several have said it is a location you might think of passing by. DON'T!! Go inside and find a beautiful bar, a piano bar, elegant lighting, and top notch service.

We were celebrating a birthday, and the Manager/Owner, Tom treated us like royalty. Felt like we were pampered the entire time. Wait staff was attentive and always knew when we might need anything. (Mike was our waiter and very professional, yet made us feel relaxed.)

Beyond the interior and atmosphere, the food beat it all!! Excellent in every way. Make this the place you choose for a special evening out. Or when you are craving extremely fresh ingredients perpared in a masterful way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Food was wonderful, music was great - BUT we aren't sure if it was the fact that one of us was ordering beer or that one of us was wearing jeans - but we truly felt overlooked by the cocktail watress - not only overlooked but fogotten. Then the hostess was going to come to the rescue and was side tracked by someone pulling her aside for a bottle of wine. She too - never looked backed - our mouths were litterally hanging open. John - the person that took our order, was a total crab - not friendly at all. THE ONE person that was wonderful we didn't get his name, young man that is an accountant during the day at the Hilton was wonderful, kind, helpfull and attentive. The FOOD will bring us back - but certainly not the staff. in our case.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tweedledeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandguy34145, Owner at Marco Polo Restaurant LLC, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

My deepest apologies. Great food without great service becomes a less than wonderful experience. Rest assured that I am pursuring remedies to ensure that your experience is not repeated. I hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Marco Island.
Feel free to contact me personally at 239-394-777. Tom Naifeh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Marco Polo Restaurant in Marco Island Florida in late October 2010. Tom greeted us with open arms as if we were part of his own family (and on the phone from Texas-Florida was the same). I cannot over state the hospitality we experienced, and that’s not even mentioning the food.
We had several items on the appetizer menu and wish we were able to try more. We had the SHRIMP COCKTAIL, CARAMELIZED ONION TART, MARCO POLO'S CRAB CAKES, CRAB STUFFED MUSHROOMS, CALAMARI FRITTO, and LINGUINI PASTA WITH CHICKEN.
We ran out of almost everything and had to order much more. The EXTRA orders were served promptly and everyone was extremely impressed by the quality of the food. I even saw young kids going back for seconds for items they had never experienced.
In all if you want to have a great dining experience, or have a wedding reception as we did, you must try Marco Polo, A little tricky to find at first but worth the trip.
Thanks Tom and we hope to see you soon!
Melanie & Troy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Place looks a bit uncertain from outside and when they mention entertainment you think you might be in for some 70s rock and roll.

Not the case, music and piano was amazing and not loud at all. Like pleasant back ground music but live.

Service amazing, owner checks on everyone and attention to detail is incredible.

Food outstanding, had steak and it was the most tender piece of beef I have had in a long time.

Wine selection great an all prices very reasonable. Loved this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gretchasketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandguy34145, Owner at Marco Polo Restaurant LLC, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2011

Thanks for the great review! I am very much aware that we as a restaurant are really as good as the last meal we served and the last guest's experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant LLC also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing