We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC A Must VISIT”
Review of Marco Polo Restaurant LLC - CLOSED

Marco Polo Restaurant LLC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC A Must VISIT”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently visited Marco Polo's upon recommendation from a friend. I cannot thank her enough for sharing this Hidden Jewel to us. There were four of us and we were pleasantly surprised with ambiance of the restaurant. Romantic, yet friendly, with couples, large tables etc... and the atmosphere couldn't have been more perfect. From the time we were greeted at the door, the professionalism and courtesy of the staff, and the overall experience of dining in the restaurant, it is the place to dine. We couldn't get enough of the shrimp and scallop apps, followed by 4 terrific meals. The liver, the fish, the chicken Parmesan, Hard to say which was better. The desserts speak for themselves, Wow. After dinner we proceeded to the piano bar where we listened and danced to the music. Fantastic Night. Hats off to the Owners. They got it right. This will be on our restaurant list for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    88
    43
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Geoff,Kathy and Anna.This is the fourth year we have visited Marco Island and it would not be complete without a meal an Marco Polo.As usual we were greeted by Tom and shown to our table by the hostess.We were served by Lori-Paige who was a great server,lovely personality and efficient.We all had different meals and the food was so good.My favourite was a steak perfectly cooked medium rare.My daughter had fish which was also delicious.It is always a pleasant atmosphere with a pianist in the bar area instead of the usual background music found in other restaurants.We certainly enjoyed our night at Marco Polo and will return next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Finally discovered the Marco Polo restaurant after several years of visiting Marco Island. Very old school. Not at all what you would expect from the exterior. We thought it was a bar. A lovely restaurant with live music, a small dance floor for those so inclined, waiters in black vests and a separate bar area. The food was excellent and well priced. My husband had the jumbo shrimp stuffed with crab meat and I had grouper stuffed with crab. Salads and a shared appetizer rounded out the wonderful meal. Amazing food and service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforever60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed in service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We made a reservation on a friday night. We arrived on time. Were greeted by the hostess and offered to dine at the table or to go to the bar first. We chose the bar. Everything was great there. Laid back music, great overall entertainment and our bartender was nice and fun to talk to. Once we finished our drinks we went to our table. Good view. Cocktail waitress came and took our drink orders another person asked about water. Drinks were brought back to the table. After that we waited for another 7 minutes till a waitress came to our table with menus. She talked very quietly, we even had to ask her to speak louder. Her name was Jennifer. She presented the specials and she left for another 10 minutes till she came back to ask if we were ready to order. Meanwhile we saw her chatting with other staff members. Once we ordered it felt like Jennifer didn't like what we ordered and was talking about table side fish and fillet, we already had our order placed and there was no need to make our order change. It certainly didn't seem appropriate to push after that. We were given a choice of two salads taht "comes with dinner orders" - caesar and regular house. From the way the waitress presented it we understood it was included in our dinner price, but later on we found out we had to pay for it. My wife had the grouper and i had scallops. Dishes were delicious.
We did enjoy our dinner, besides the service. We might return and hope to have better service next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THANKS TOMMY!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you haven't tried it, you have been missing out! Food is always something to talk about!
Great experience and wonderful service. All this talk about it, I guess I should go tonight!
Thanks tommy for always making us feel special!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant LLC also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing