We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maia Restaurant

Maia Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The price was high but the breakfast buffet was fantastic. We ate here twice during our stay and loved the choice of foods and the quality was great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    78
    26
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ho hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

one breakfast a day came with my course food typical for a hotel restaurant able to walk out with enough for two not worth paying for but not bad for "free"

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelady
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Champagne & eggs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had breakfast at Tropiks and it was delicious. Made to order omelets and eggs. French toast, Belgian waffles and pancakes, egg-white fritatta, scrambled eggs and hashbrown casserole, oatmeal, grits, cold cereal, yogurt and granola, fresh fruit and juice...and for guests of legal drinking age...your choice of bloody mary or mimosa with breakfast! These were all my choices on the breakfast buffett which was about $24 per person, all you can eat! It was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenience at a cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked the bed and breakfast package with our room. This included the buffet breakfast at Tropics. The restaurant is nice and is decorated in a casual island theme. The buffet selection of food is very extensive. It features typical favorites including eggs, potatoes, meats, cereal bar, fruits, breads and sweets. it also offers made to order omelettes and pancakes. The rub here is that quantity does not equal quality. The quality is below what you would get in a good joint. Breakfast is not hard to doe well but apparently it is here.

In addition, there is a large sign behind the counter that states (paraphrasing) that if you don't see something you want just ask. Don't bother asking for anything you don't see no matter how simple. We asked for a couple of items for the kids but were told they couldn't do anything. For example, my kids love home fries and hash browns. Here the hash browns were in a casserole with more cheese than potato. It was a pasty mess. Day two featured "Italian potatoes" and had peppers, onions and seasonings. Once again we were told no plain potatoes were available. Sorry kids.

The topping on the cake is the 18% gratuity automatically added to your bill. The buffet was included in my room charge. The gratuity on the equivalent buffet for two adults and two children is slightly less than the cost of breakfast for four at Denny's. Let's keep in mind that we served ourselves. The gratuity paid for someone to bring juice once and drop a pot of coffee on the table. I believe that tipping is very important but it should be commensurate with the level and quality of service received.

I recommend that people skip the breakfast package and go do down the street. It may not be convenient but it will be better and cost a lot less.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Watch the sun go down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

While you have supper.
Watch the entertainment.
Listen to the sound of the waves.
All in all a nice experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spangledog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maia Restaurant also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing