We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Book By It's Cover”
Review of The Crazy flamingo

The Crazy flamingo
Ranked #51 of 121 Restaurants in Marco Island
Price range: $4 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The Crazy Flamingo has been serving Marco Island for 27 years. It is a VERY, I repeat VERY casual bar setting restaurant that happens to sell delicious food, beer & wine. WE DO NOT Have a wait staff. EVERYTHING is ordered at the bar. We are best known for our Wings, Burgers on Garlic bread, fresh fish and Seafood dishes. Our raw bar of oysters and clams are shucked to order right in front of you.Our steamed pots are popular. If your looking for a VERY relaxed ,casual, sometimes LOUD but always good food... Stop by.. We do not take reservations,some parties come for dinner and stay all night. Enjoy the Island
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Crazy Flamingo was our last choice and we were getting quite hungry when we pulled in. It looked like a typical beach bar and you had to order at the bar. I was a little wary. We ordered the Mahi Mahi Jamaican with black beans and rice. Best I've ever had! Now I know your thinking there's only so much you can do with black beans and rice but they were delicious and the Mahi was very very good. Never judge a book by it's cover. It was still a beach bar but they put out some good food!

Thank Airitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for The Crazy flamingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We just arrived on the island and thought it looked like a fun place to grab a bite and a beer. There is outdoor seating. We decided to share the grouper basket since we were not too hungry. Service is sort of do it yourself. You order inside at the window and they call your name to come and get it when it's ready. None of that would bother me if the food was good..... But it wasn't . The Grouper fingers were oil soaked and heavy on the breading....scarce on actual fish. The fries and fish taste like it's all fried together in old used oil. Won't be back.

Thank OhioJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl34145, Manager at The Crazy flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are so sorry your grouper basket did not satisfy you. Had we known, you certainly would not have paid and we would have issued a gift certificate for a future visit perhaps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Truth--The place is filled with smoke whether your inside or out, u wait on yourself(which isn't made clear) so no one deserves a tip, it's dirty, over priced and to top it off, in all the other bad reviews on here, which are true, the "manager" or "guest relations manager" never takes responsibility for anything and gets smart with customer reviews...which makes me dislike this place even more!

Dear Mr/Mrs Manager, if u want one good thing about your place it's that u have cold beer!

Don't waste your time or money! I'm shocked it's still in business!

3  Thank bkibler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl34145, Manager at The Crazy flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

SO.....Did you eat here? You didn't mention that. We are in an older building. We have a wonderful cleaning crew that comes in nightly. Due to our high volumn, very busy business it does tend to get messy at times. We do apoligize & try to clean as we go. We can not stop people from smoking outside though.As for responding to guests. The many restaurants on Marco say we do the best. It is always best to let the establishment know while your actually THERE. So they can fix any problems you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

There is no waiter service so go up to the bar when your ready. No one will tell you that. Food is all fried. A bit over priced. Enjoy your view of the parking lot while your Sit at metal picnic tables and drink nasty tap water from a styrofoam cup. Needless to say We will not go back. Ps everyone is smoking outside which flows inside too.
On a good note there are electronic paper towel dispensers in the bathrooms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hockeymomgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl34145, Manager at The Crazy flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant. Upon entering Kathleen asked if you've been here before and you had last year. We have been here 25 years and never had table service. Maybe something to consider. We do allow people to smoke outside as does every other restaurant. We're sorry if that offended you. The tap water on Marco does not taste very good, we agree, we sell bottled water and sodas. Our menu has alot of fried foods, but check out the salads, the pasta, the fresh grilled fish. We try to have something for everyone,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This place was the first place we ate at on the island. Very laid back. You order from the counter and grab your own food when the order is up. Servers get you beverages and clean your table that is about it. Prices were way cheap and good portions. There are lots of fancier places on Marco Island, this is a good one to kick back and relax. Stuff for kids too, pool, juke box and a few video games. Great big pot of seafood and oysters were awesome and cheap!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grolsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl34145, Manager at The Crazy flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We thank you for visiting and reviewing our restaurant. The reason we can serve great food at a good price is because we do not have table service and we thank you and our many loyal long standing customers for realizing that. It is a little crazy, but then again we are the Crazy Flamingo. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy flamingo also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Crazy flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing