We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome atmosphere & view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere & view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We sat out on the patio, arriving just before sunset. The view was spectacular, and you are mere steps away from the sand. The food is okay and the service was good. Had it not been for the atmosphere and sunset view, then it would be just average. If you're going, I would suggest the only time to go would be indeed, at sunset.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoyatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    290
    149
    46
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Last Night on the Beach - great view - not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We brought the whole family - nine of us - to the Sunset Grille for our last night in Marco - the view from the restaurant is beautiful and our waiter was great. The food however was not so good. My husband and daughter had the fish and chips - white fish that tasted as they described it - really fishy - my daughter actually had a stomach ache all evening after dinner. I had the french dip which is usually good - this time the au jus was lacking in any flavor and the sandwich was also very bland. If it wasn't for the view I doubt we will be back - probably just to sit at the bar and have a beer next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggirl8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Close to most of the condos and the view is pretty - but the food is so-so at best and service is awful. Overpriced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChickyLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Great View, Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Date Visited: Sunday, June 29, 2014
Pros: Great view and location
Cons: Decent food, slow service

This restaurant is located in the Apollo condos, which is convenient right off of Collier, but hard to find (drive up to the condo itself to see the door, park on either side). The place is at the back of the building, right on the ocean. Unfortunatly the outdoor seating is right next to the bar and the boardwalk, so you have rowdy bar patrons and beachgoers in their bathing suits walking past your table. But then again I don’t think any other place on the island looks right out over the Gulf like that either. Anyway, we ordered a shrimp app, the jerk chicken, and a tuna salad sandwich. The shrimp was okay, the sandwich was pretty tasty, but the jerk chicken (at $18) left something to be desired. Of course the plates are huge, but the chicken had a flavor that seemed a little off. The main problem was the service. Our waiter Jimmy was friendly enough but he was so slow - even for island time! So come expecting a great view, entertainment provided by the beach and par patrons, so-so food and leave plenty of time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When Am I Going to Learn?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Why did we go back a third time ? Well, it is convenient ( we usually stay in a condo close by), and I'd hoped it had improved . Keep hoping, Lobo.

The service is suspect, the menu is limited and the food is mediocre at best. Last night, we both opted for the Philly Cheese steak loaded with peppers and mushrooms. As far as we can tell, any vestige of mushrooms and peppers must have been lost in the food processor because they were not discern able on the sandwich. The chopped up beef glistened with grease. I was scrubbing my mouth all night while my wife battled indigestion.

Pass the Tums. There are far better places to eat on Marco. Too bad mediocrity occupies a place on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeyLobo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing