We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and excellent food right overlooking the beach!”
Review of Sale E Pepe

Sale E Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale E Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spruce Ave.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great room and excellent food right overlooking the beach!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A really excellent restaurant, probably the best on Marco Island! Very good Italian, with a very helpful professional staff. We were a group of 4 and everyone loved the food, decor and service.I highly recommend eating here at least once while staying on the Island!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vessy T, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It was a pleasure serving you. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    184
    95
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Experience Ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant experience was probably the best experience ever. And probably the most expensive I have ever had. The restaurant really has no name on the outside of it. It is in the Marco Beach Club Hotel. Once you find it, it is a beautiful restaurant. It sits up off a balcony so it is good for sunsets. The problem is they have no where for regular patrons to go for the sunset if they are having a wedding or event there. They need to change that. Our waiter was Italian and spoke Italian and English to us. We brought a bottle of wine, $35 corkage fee - Pricey). Our second bottle of wine was suggested by our waiter who was also an Italian Sommelier. His suggestion was outstanding. He also ordered for us when we decided to order appetizers and split them between the four of us. He also ordered pasta for us and split that too. And the chef made a special dessert for us as well. Now all of this doesn't come cheap. The bill was almost $600 for the four of us, with the wine being $130 of it. So, if you want the most incredible experience and you can afford to spend and splurge then go for it. This restaurant has been rated #16 in the country and is well worth the trip. I'm sure you don't have to spend $600 to have a wonderful meal there. It was our anniversary dinner so $300 didn't seem so bad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vessy T, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had the "Sale e Pepe Experience". Please come back and we will do it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had in Marco”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Not cheap but well worth it. Truly a fine dining experience. Best place to see the sunset and the ringing of the bell.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guye926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vessy T, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Sale e Pepe Restaurant and for taking the time to share your feedback. Please join us again for another great dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, IN
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not Impressed for the $$$”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We wanted a special last night dinner on the water. Several locals recommended this place so We made reservations through the concierge at our hotel. When we arrived they said they could not sit us outside due to a wedding. We came here to sit outside so we started off disappointed; WE got a nice inside table overlooking the outside wedding...Everyone that waited on us had an accent and was a bit difficult to understand. There are not many choices on the menu. Review the menu online before you go here. I had a salad and a mushroom pasta. Overall it was ok. My friend said reminded her of cream of mushroom soup. We enjoyed the several bottles of wine we ordered it was overall kind of pricey and would not mind the price if the food was great.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peyton0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vessy T, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate your visit to Sale e Pepe Restaurant and your valuable feedback.
Being an authentic Italian restaurant we work with international staff form Italy and all over Europe and we were sorry that you had difficulties understanding us.
We were disappointed to hear that the cuisine was not to your satisfaction as our culinary team takes great pride in the quality and presentation of the menu selections.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bring your sunglasses!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed cocktails in a beautiful room that made you feel like royalty! Comfortable chairs and sofas...we had drinks and lovely appetizers served by a very professional waitstaff!

Approximately an hour later we went to the terrace to enjoy dinner and the sunset. WOW...don't forget your sunglasses it is very bright and beautiful as the sun sets over the Gulf.

We were a group of 22 and Svetlana could not have been a better waitress. Every course was delicious. Everything came out hot and delicious! My only complaint was the wine sommelier was not that knowledgeable with the wine...I am not going to take away from the rating, as we did change the wine she suggested with one that we chose instead, and it was no problem.

Not only was the food wonderful, but so was the experience! Worth every penny to dine here...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vessy T, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Sale e Pepe restaurant and for taking the time to share your feedback.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed Chef Giuliano’s authentic Italian cuisine and the outstanding service provided by Svetlana.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale E Pepe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sale E Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing