We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with top notch sunset views (kind-of)”
Review of Sale E Pepe

Sale E Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale E Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spruce Ave.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with top notch sunset views (kind-of)”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We took my in-laws for dinner to thank them for driving us down to Marco Island. The menu is a little overwhelming at first, but the staff was very helpful with making drink and menu selections. We shared a salami and quail egg bruschetta appetizer and it was delicious. My wife has a gluten allergy and although they do not offer a gluten free menu, the staff is very well trained and can make just about any of their offerings using gluten free ingredients. They even had gluten free bread available, which my wife said was the best she's ever had. Two of us had pasta (the pasta with wild boar sausage is great) and two of us had seafood. The sea bass with black truffle chowder was delicious.

The sunset view looking out over the gulf was great, but my only complaint would be that the tables don't go all the way to the railing, so anyone waiting for a table ends up blocking your view, which is pretty frustrating when you have booked your reservation specifically for the sunset.

Overall, a great and memorable dining experience. We hope to repeat it before our trip is through.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bkinder162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank your for your review. I enjoyed reading the part about your experience with being Gluten Free. Our staff spends a great deal of time learning about food allergies and we challenge and train the staff to create menu's for different allergies. We want everyone to enjoy fine food and service, regardless of dietary restrictions. Thank you again for sharing and I hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    184
    93
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We treated ourselves for a special Valentine's dinner by making reservations at this restaurant. WARNING: Don't make after dinner plans! First, our reservation time was not honored. We arrived 10 minutes before the reserved time & waited approximately 30 minutes to be seated. Service was extremely slow! If it wasn't for the extensive & unusual dishes, excellent homemade pastas & desserts, I would have no desire to visit this place again. I would rate this as very good for food & location but the slow service brought this rating down. I hope the slow service was because of overbookings for Valentine's Day & not the norm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony F, Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I appologize that there was an extended wait time for your reservation, and hope that you were made comfortable during the busy evening in our Toulousse Lounge or Saletta Bar. If you return to Sale e Pepe in the future, please reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your reservation and make up for the previous experience.

Best,
Tony Farina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No tables for happy hour!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Best view. Nicest place on island for sunset. Buy 1 drink get 1, fantastic deal they advertise. Been there 4 times, only 3 tables set up. Buy some tables.

Helpful?
Thank Lisatrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unforgettable and unfailingly charming”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our party had the simple grilled fish (branzino) and a few glasses of the "Whispering Angel" Provence rose (dry with big minerals and fruity) and the spicy and tart Super Tuscan. Both great combinations. Unfailingly good service and a magical atmosphere - an exceptional dinner for our first time on Marco Island. I know when the service people are frantic (they were) yet they still made it unforgettable and charming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good service and a wonderful wait staff. The meatballs were absolutely delicious. My wife had a salad that was fresh and not drenched in dressing. There were 6 of us and everyone enjoyed their meal. My steak was delicious and the special pasta was enjoyed by all. A very nice dining experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale E Pepe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sale E Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing