We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to beg to get a seat in a restaurant that was half full.”
Review of Sale E Pepe

Sale E Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale E Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spruce Ave.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had to beg to get a seat in a restaurant that was half full.”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

On our first night in Marco we had a delightful dinner at Sal e Pepe. We had a reservation and all was well. Since our first experience had been so good we decided to go back 3 nights later without a reservation and were treated like crap. The outside deck was half full so we figured there shouldn't be a problem We were very wrong as we were made to feel like Leppers. We were seated in the outside lounge and waited and waited. No one came over to take our drink order. Finally my husband got up to find out where our server was. The horrible Maitre D said "oh we don't have happy hour now" I replied then why did you seat us out here. It went down hill fast from there. It is always amazing to me how a restaurant can survive if you treat the patrons like you are just bothering them. Too bad cause the atmosphere and food are good. Someone needs to learn how paying guest should be treated. Very disgusted. The inside portion of the restaurant was also empty.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I was pleased to hear that you had a pleasant dining experience with us on your first visit.

However it was disappointing to hear that we didn’t extend the same courtesies on your second visit. I have personally addressed your comments with all our team members.

Please know that we appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Again thank you, and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.


Robert Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    184
    95
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Atmosphere wonderful, great food an great service. We thoroughly enjoyed it!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hiltzie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are delighted to hear you took pleasure in all Sale e Pepe has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Resturant”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We loved the food! Beautiful resturant! Staff was great....

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank cmf11518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our staff, restaurant and food. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little bit of Sorrento in Florida”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Well crafted dishes and friendly service in a spectacular gulf front setting. Prices are reasonable for the level of quality but portions are quite small.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rusty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have shared your compliments and valuable comments with our restaurant and culinary team.
We would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food is excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The food is top notch, the hostess is very friendly and our waiter was Great.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monte100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Sale E Pepe, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for dining with us. We are happy to hear you had a pleasurable experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future at Sale e Pepe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale E Pepe also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sale E Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing