We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but...”

Verdi's An American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Verdi's An American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chef Upham is constantly expanding his skills and is continuously praised by our local customers, as well as commended on social media for his talent of preparing food to perfection. In addition, our distinguished wine list will allow you to pair any meal with the perfect wine. Please visit our menu tab for our most current wine list and broad menu. Verdi’s reservation office is open from noon to 9pm daily and reservations are highly suggested from November 1st through then end of April. In addition, reservations for parties of 8 or more are strongly suggested year round. Our dress code is island casual (polo shirts and dressy sandals are acceptable). Kid’s welcomed and kid’s menu are available. We invite you to join us for dinner and experience Verdi’s difference; we guarantee that you will love your meal and leave delighted with our customer service.
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, but...”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We dined here on Saturday, Dec. 11, 2010 based on the #1 Trip Advisor rating. We did not have a reservation but arrived at 6:30 pm and were promptly seated. The owner personally greated all patrons and asked us for our opinions at the end of our meal. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. The quality of the food was excellent but the meats ("baseball" cut prime rib and rack of lamb) were heavily seasoned and salty--so we give the food an overall rating of very good. The atmosphere was pleasant and quiet--we were able to have a conversation without difficulty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SkipperOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you so much for your posting. We appreciate all comments and take each one of them as a learning tool to keep up to a level of standard that we are very proud of. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon, and we wish you a very happy, holiday season. Warm regards, Verdi's Management2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    149
    53
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

we saved this restaurant for our last night on MI; what a mistake, because we would have liked to return. Our server was enthusiasic and efficient; the menu varied and interesting; the presentation impressive. My sea bass served with white beans was delicious, as was everything else served to our table. the host was gracious beyond belief. I can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tew53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your Verdi's experience with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon! All our best to you for a happy holiday season & a very happy, healthy New Year! Warm regards, Verdismanagement 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Two Hour Escape with FAB service and Food”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We native Floridians brought our Colorado mountain, restaurant-owner friends for Saturday night dinner, after T'giving. We wanted a total escape from turkey and also wanted to be well-cared for and well-fed. We got it all, PLUS Andrea's caring, humourous, enlivening service. Prime beef, local fish, fresh vegiges and greens plus toasted almond-topped Key Lime pie were paced and served by Andrea with group participation by all wait staff. Well done, Verdi's! The chef and owner-maitre-d came by to say hi and check on our experience. We sat amongst 15 tables in the main room, without losing one word of conversation from noise from our neighboring tables. I wish we had Verdi's near our home in Tampa!

Helpful?
Thank leighb618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you so much for posting your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write. We will make sure your wonderful comments are shared with our entire staff as we do with all of our reviews. Thank you again and happy holidays! Regards, Verdi's Management 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eat here”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a very pleasant evening, tried some new foods, noted some interesting wines on the wine list and had great service and a nice atmosphere. I recommend the duck pot stickers and the pork chop. The tuna was huge but not much taste. There's lots to chose from, so pick something else. Good desserts - save room. Definitely worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parfait135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Hi and thank you so much for taking your time to post your comments on trip advisor. We so appreciate your feedback and we hope you will be able to dine with us again in the future. All our best, Verdi's Management 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Great Place, Awsome Folks”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife and I attended a conference last week at the Marriott. The convention was large and Verdi's was recommended as one of the places to visit while in Marco. We decided to extend our stay and decided to make it there on Friday night when everyone went back home. We were greeted at the door by the owners who made a very nice impression with their welcome. We sat towards the back and ordered a nice bottle of wine. The waitress was very helpful and gave us great advice on what to order. I had the Chicken Phylo dish which was superb and my wife had the Tilapia. The owner came over and made us feel right at home, his wife later joined us and we had a lovely chat. Great folks, we were happy to have made such a great choice to go there.. We were the last to leave, but they made us feel like family and did not rush us at all. We made reservations to come back Saturday night. What a wonderful dining experience, we hightly recommend Verdi's as one of the best places we have dined at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeniffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear BlingBling,
We are so glad your conference gave you the opportunity to dine at Verdi's and also that you enjoyed it so much to come back on Saturday. Mari, the owner's wife enjoyed speaking with you as well as she wanted me to mention to you after she read your wonderful warm posting. Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to serving you again soon. Have a wonderful holiday season! All our best to you from all of us at Verdi's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdi's An American Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Verdi's An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing