We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Verdi's An American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Verdi's An American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chef Upham is constantly expanding his skills and is continuously praised by our local customers, as well as commended on social media for his talent of preparing food to perfection. In addition, our distinguished wine list will allow you to pair any meal with the perfect wine. Please visit our menu tab for our most current wine list and broad menu. Verdi’s reservation office is open from noon to 9pm daily and reservations are highly suggested from November 1st through then end of April. In addition, reservations for parties of 8 or more are strongly suggested year round. Our dress code is island casual (polo shirts and dressy sandals are acceptable). Kid’s welcomed and kid’s menu are available. We invite you to join us for dinner and experience Verdi’s difference; we guarantee that you will love your meal and leave delighted with our customer service.
Charleston, WV
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Based on Tripadvisor reviews, we recently went to Verdi's. Once again, the reviews were correct. I started with the Clam Chowder and what a great way to start it was. After salad, I continued with the Chilean Sea Bass. Mary had the Ahi Tuna. Both were perfect. Key Lime Tart completed an excellent meal. The service was attentive but not hovering, and we never felt rushed. I have been to many restaurants on the island, and Verdi's may be the best. I highly recommend a meal here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything and we appreciate your recommendations to others here on this site. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you soon. All our best! Verdismanagement2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    149
    55
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I will never go here again.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have been to Verdi's many times & written complimentary reviews. Wanted to show some friends a good restaurant. Reservation made for 6.30pm. Having worked our way through appetiser, salad, main course & desert, paid our bill $240 for 4 people, we were "asked to leave" by the manager at 8.20pm as there was a line of people - without reservations - waiting to eat. No"sorry to have to ask" or "thank you for leaving" or "hope you enjoyed your meal" - the impression was "get out because I want to make more money from the people waiting". Such a shame because all memories of the quality of the food & service were immediately erased by a person who desperately needs to go back to charm school to learn manners. If he wants to impose a time limit then this should be stated when accepting a reservation. Is 1 hour 50 minutes too long for a 4 course dinner?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review here on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry we fell short of your expectations. We were quite backed up with reservations waiting as many of our guests came late for their early reservations and our later reservation times came early. In a tiny restaurant with no bar or a place for guests to wait...it is a challenge sometimes when this happens.We apologize and we hope you would please join us again and let us show you that this was not our norm. Thank you so much! Vince Rodriguez, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine dining on Marco Island”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great food and service. Chef Martin runs an outstanding kitchen and the entire staff is welcoming and supports a very efficient service. There is truly something for everyone on the menu....pasta , chicken, fish and seafood as well as steaks and chops.....the swordfish and pork prime rib are our personal favorites. Try it you'll like it!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumagrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for joining us again and for posting another wonderful review. On behalf of Chef Martin, his culinary team and our entire staff we thank you so much and we appreciate you recommending us to others here on this site. All our best! Verdismanagement2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely awesome!! Seabass was top notch! Swordfish, beautiful!! Shrimp & scallops with lobster sauce on linguini, wonderful! Cuban coffe creme brûlée, best I've ever had. Whole meal, beginning to end was excellent!! Would go back in a heartbeat! A little pricey, but worth EVERY penny!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are loving the "heading" We work very hard to ensure a perfect meal along with a perfect dining experience and we are so glad you saw that. Thank you again for joining us and we hope you have the opportunity to join us again in the future! All our best! Verdismanagement2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove, FL
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very nice place, make sure you make a reservation! Wine selections were good and reasonably priced. Tables a little too close to each other but they need all the space they can get.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charliep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for joining us and for writing such a wonderful review. We are a very small restaurant with huge flavor and we are glad that it shows. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again in the future. All our best! Verdismanagement2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdi's An American Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Verdi's An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing