We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food!”

Verdi's An American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Verdi's An American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chef Upham is constantly expanding his skills and is continuously praised by our local customers, as well as commended on social media for his talent of preparing food to perfection. In addition, our distinguished wine list will allow you to pair any meal with the perfect wine. Please visit our menu tab for our most current wine list and broad menu. Verdi’s reservation office is open from noon to 9pm daily and reservations are highly suggested from November 1st through then end of April. In addition, reservations for parties of 8 or more are strongly suggested year round. Our dress code is island casual (polo shirts and dressy sandals are acceptable). Kid’s welcomed and kid’s menu are available. We invite you to join us for dinner and experience Verdi’s difference; we guarantee that you will love your meal and leave delighted with our customer service.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a fabulous restaurant. Intimate, elegant atmosphere with wonderful service. If you are looking for fine dining go here. The chef has highly imaginative yet not 'wacky' dishes. Every dish we tasted was superb. As I told the chef when he stopped by our table, the food here is worthy of any excellent NY restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BBCC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your awesome review and thank you so very much for joining us., We know for sure that Chef Martin truly appreciated your wonderful comments as well as the owner, Vince and our entire staff. Being compared to a New York restaurant is truly an honor and we will continue to strive to a level of excellence that our diners expect and deserve. We hope to have you join us again soon! All our best and Happy Holidays! Verdismanagement2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    149
    54
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Great Service!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The food was beyond excellent. Can't believe that we have been coming down to Marco twice a year for the past 4 years and have missed eating here. The service we received was spectacular as well. Please be advised that if you are in a hurry, this is not the place to go as the food is prepared as it is ordered. Also, if you have kids, you may want to consider another option. Luckily, our 19 month old fell asleep in the car and they had the corner booth available and he slept through our entire visit. Can't wait to visit again on the next trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HMS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for finally finding us after 4 years! :)) We have proudly been serving Marco Island for 15 years and we are so very happy to do so. We thank you for writing such a wonderful review and we look forward to serving you again soon and we do have a wonderful children's menu when your little one can join us again too. All our best and Happy Holidays! Verdismanagement2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overall excellent”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had a wonderful meal at Verdi's. Very unassuming from the outside in a strip mall location, but the interior is a warm, intimate dining room. It was fairly full the evening we were there with a large party right behind us, however, the noise level was remarkably low. For appetizers, we had the mussels with white sauce and the special (and truly excellent) salad of the day with onion jam and Gorgonzola. Both were excellent. Our entrees were the ahi tuna and shrimp linguine. The latter usually comes with scallops as well, but the kitchen easily accommodated my request to omit them. The pasta was perfectly cooked with a bright and spicy tomatoey broth and the shrimp were tender. The tuna was served rare and also excellent. We shared a banana foster dessert, which was a bit different than other versions I've had, but very good. They have a small, but good selection of port for after dinner as well. The service was friendly and attentive and the server very knowledgeable about the menu. Truly a memorable meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for dining with us and for your wonderful review. We appreciate all our guests requests and we wouldn't be who we are without all of you, so again thank you so very much and we are so pleased you enjoyed everything. From all of us at Verdi's...Happy Holidays and we look forward to serving you again soon! All our best! Verdismanagement2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food was great but we left disappointed...............”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had high expectations after reading other reviews and asking locals on the island to recommend. We were seated in a small room off the main dining area next to a large party which included children. The food was excellent and the service was attentive. However, we commented to our server that the noise from the kitchen (very close to our booth) was distracting. Nothing was done nor did anyone in management acknowledge our comment. We decided that they must have been closing up the kitchen as we were among the few diners there past 9 PM. Our reservation was at 8:30. The quiet romantic dinner we had looked forward to was a big letdown. If you go, go early and ask for the main dining room seating.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brooksville01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for dining with us, posting a wonderful review and acknowledging how you loved our food and service. We do so apologize for seating you in the Chef's booth for your later reservation as the kitchen was being cleaned. We will make sure our later reservations are in the main dining room and we thank you for letting us know that. We know that Chef Martin did come and apologize to you and please let our reservations manager, Robyn, know if you would like to join us again in the future and she will make sure you have a perfect evening. Thank you so much again! Happy Holidays! All our best! Verdismanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Food in Marco”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent service and food. Staff is very attentive. Quick suggestion ... A "Lighter Side" menu is available for those that otherwise don't want an enormous, yet delicious, meal. The "Lighter Side" is served with a tremendous house salad. Is this really a place for kids ... probably not. They're certainly gracious to serve all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrainLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Manager at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your heading is truly humbling. With so many fine restaurants on the island we are honored with your comment of "Best Food in Marco". We aim to please and have something for everyone and our lighter fare is a wonderful meal and we thank you for mentioning that.Thank you again for joining us, taking your time to post a review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. From all of us at Verdi's....Happy Holidays! All our best! Verdismanagement2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdi's An American Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Verdi's An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing