We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”

Verdi's An American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Verdi's An American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chef Upham is constantly expanding his skills and is continuously praised by our local customers, as well as commended on social media for his talent of preparing food to perfection. In addition, our distinguished wine list will allow you to pair any meal with the perfect wine. Please visit our menu tab for our most current wine list and broad menu. Verdi’s reservation office is open from noon to 9pm daily and reservations are highly suggested from November 1st through then end of April. In addition, reservations for parties of 8 or more are strongly suggested year round. Our dress code is island casual (polo shirts and dressy sandals are acceptable). Kid’s welcomed and kid’s menu are available. We invite you to join us for dinner and experience Verdi’s difference; we guarantee that you will love your meal and leave delighted with our customer service.
NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Verdi's is located in an unassuming strip mall, not a promising presentation. But once you enter, it is exemplary. Service is professional yet friendly. The menu is extensive with plenty of meat, fish and vegetarian options. In addition, there is a "light" menu, featuring select entrees from the menu but in smaller portions. After several meals out, the ability to eat well yet less was welcome. I had an excellent grilled shrimp dish with a miso glaze and wasabi garnish. Superb! My son had the rack of lamb which was a generous serving and very well executed. While we did not have any wine, the list was extensive. The only weakness was the dessert menu. Nothing so compelling that we wanted it. Maybe that was actually good for us? This is a fine yet unpretenious restaurant,the best we had on Marco. We will be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank MLENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about Verdi's and for sharing them with others on Trip Advisor. We are very thankful for all of our diners and for them taking their personal time to write about us. We are so happy that your meal was to your liking and apologize that our dessert menu did not "wow" you. Next time you are in town, please try our Signature German Chocolate Cake, we assure you that you will not be disappointed!! We hope you visit us again when you are on the island and all the best wishes to you. Verdi's Management 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    149
    53
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Try the duck. Or the Hawaiian walu - where else are you going to eat a fish like this. Great service, excellent menu, thoughtful and inobtrusive service, The chef came out and thanked us for dining there. Good wine list, fresh brewed ice tea, french bread. The family's favorite Marco Island restaurant. Unfortunately, like many Marco restaurants, closed on Sundays.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank legaleagleksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about Verdi's and for sharing them with others on Trip Advisor. We are very thankful for all of our diners and for them taking their personal time to write about us. We are delighted you enjoyed two of our top sellers Our Chef Martin cares about each and every guest and their dining experience and makes sure everyone is satisfied with his wonderful creations. We hope you visit us again when you are on the island and all the best wishes to you. Verdi's Management 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere and good service.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Would go back. The service and food were worth the price. It's not the place for dining on a budget though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovisanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about Verdi's and for sharing them with others on Trip Advisor. We are very thankful for all of our diners and for them taking their personal time to write about us. We are very conscientious of current market prices and use the best ingredients in preparing our dishes. We are certainly not a quick service restaurant; however, we do offer a lighter menu which allows our guests to try our most popular dishes in smaller portions. We hope you visit us again when you are on the island and all the best wishes to you. Verdi's Management 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have a condo on Marco so when it is not rented we go there (2-3 times/year)
So we stopped at Verdi's and we like it. Relaxing and pleasant. Good food. Good service.
Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about Verdi's and for sharing them with others on Trip Advisor. We are very thankful for all of our diners and for them taking their personal time to write about us. We are happy you stopped in while visiting the island and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back on the island and all the best wishes to you. Verdi's Management 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Marco”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

American Continental cuisine served in a small, intimate setting. Professional service, great wine list. Best sea bass on the planet and rack of lamb could serve two people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerdisManagement, Owner at Verdi's An American Bistro, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about Verdi's and for sharing them with others on Trip Advisor. We are very thankful for all of our diners and for them taking their personal time to write about us. Thrilled that you enjoyed one of the favorite dishes "Sea Bass". We look forward to seeing you again when you are back on the island and all the best wishes to you. Verdi's Management 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdi's An American Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Verdi's An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing