We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing ' un je ne sais quoi'...”

Marek's Collier House Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Marek's Collier House Restaurant ,Fine Dining specialzing in the finest Local Fresh Seafood, Lobsters and Meats.The Bar and Bistro at Marek's, Casual island setting outdoor dining and live entertainment offering a choice of fresh seafood as well as home made Salads, Flatbreads , Steaks and Burgers as well as a few British twists
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have eaten at Marek's several times in the past...once in season, the place was crowded and there was a great atmosphere, the owners were present and cordially stopped and talked to the diners. The food was very good from the appetizers to the desserts! The next time we ate there, however, things have slightly changed: the quality of food and service had diminished...not the same gourmet cachet that Marek's is famous for...Today , we tried the bistro which is very friendly in decor and atmosphere but the food was just "average good" ...nothing special. We could have had the salmon or the chicken curry anywhere! Marek's used to be really "special' on the island..today the portions were rather small too...a pity! The owner/chef is a good man.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcoLyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Marek's Collier House Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 140 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

odd place, not sure what vibe they are going for in the bistro. More like a Denny's in decor, tables, seating. Ordered a glass of champagne which was flat. Ordered a salad and 3 appetizers to share. Waited over 30 minutes for the salad and even longer for the appetizers. Will not go back. Server was friendly, but food took too long, and was average at best. Goat cheese salad, duck eggrolls, fries with curry sauce, bbq chicken flat bread. Disappointed all the way around and it was our last night in Marco...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peanutpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMarek, Owner at Marek's Collier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I feel your description of our Restaurant's interior as a "Denny's" is totally inaccurate and misleading, I presume you may be confusing our Restaurant with another or obviously have no appreciation for our building's 130 year old historical architecture.

At Marek's we offer a casual Bar and Bistro with inside and outside dining as well as our better known fine dining Restaurant set in Captain Bill Collier's Historical Home.

It has been brought to my attention by your Server and this review that you placed a special order form our Fine Dining Restaurant's Menu whilst dining in the Bistro, as always we try to accommodate our guest's every need hence there may have been a short delay whilst we communicated between our two Kitchens your request, if you had time constraints for our dining experience you can always notify your Server.

During your vist like all guest we give you the opportunity to voice any concerns and we strongly encourage this so we can resolve any concerns if any that may occur .

Peter Marek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A family restaurant with a nice menu. Good service, good food which is always HOT and delicious French sauces to go with the food. Early bird specials available, check out the local newpaper

1  Thank Buzz-n-Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

loved the atmosphere. Have been back 3 times and experienced wonderful setting, but the food which we only tried in the bistro (have heard the 5 star restaurant side is wonderful) and everytime we were not happy with our meal. Ceasar was odd and had bacon in it. Chicken curry was bland, and there is a bit of attitude with wait staff and owner.
My son had a burger and it was like a perkin's burger. Not handpacked and like a hockey puck.

My wife had fish and chips and too heavy with beer batter and greasy. We were so discouraged due to atmosphere is lovely.
dessert was average as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lee ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a fantastic time with my family, food was great our server nicki was fabulous! She was prompt and very friendly she made us all laugh throughout the meal and even sang happy birthday to my mom. Definitely recommendable! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cutiepie566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marek's Collier House Restaurant also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Goodland, Marco Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing