We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside appearance fool you”
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
Ranked #27 of 125 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great little seafood restaurant--not easy to find, but worth it. Relatively small number of tables inside but décor belies the exterior which is not the attraction. Quaint little covered porch area with several tables and a few very casual tables for outside dining but the view is of the parking lot.

Reason to go is the quality and variety of seafood. Large prawns, specialty of the house were excellent, rare ahi tuna was very good with spice/orange sauce, crab cakes excellent as well. Key lime pie was as good as it gets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 383 of 766 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderful giant prawns. I have never tasted better. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. Did I mention the key lime pie?

Thank Travers E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! It is very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our signature dish, the jumbo prawns, as well our made in-house key lime pie. Our seafood is brought to us each day to ensure it is always as fresh and tasty as possible. Our desserts are all made in-house and the key lime pie seems to never disappoint! We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Probably the worst dining experience I've ever had.
Started off with a bug in my all-ready poured ice water. A hair in one of our salads. An ant climbing up the wall. A noise level beyond comprehension - too


rude and inconsiderate to even address - which made any remote possibility of enjoying the evening out of the question. The prawns were good. Steak should not be on the menu. Or what came with it. Scallops & shrimp were unremarkable. Won't be back. Neither will anyone we know.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Outside patio dining was very pleasant, service was great and the seafood selections and manners of preparation were delicious. Starters were delicious, as was the Captain's Seafood Platter.

1  Thank MissAnne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your comments on our service and food. Our wait staff goes through extensive training in order to become very knowledgeable, attentive and friendly toward our guests. It is very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our seafood while dining with us. Our seafood is caught locally and brought to us each day in order to ensure it is always as fresh and tasty as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed our outdoor dining area. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The restaurant is beautifully furnished. There were eight of us, seven wonderful meals, mine was average. I had the Snapper dinner. Others in our group raved about their meals. I thought the service was not up to snuff. It was a bit slow, and I received my appetizer order AFTER my main course was served! I will go back if for no other reason to experience the good meals some of my friends had; plus, of course because the place is so elegant. And not too pricey, really! They have a nice variety of items on the menu plus some specials. The entire facility is located in a nice part of town and the adjoining hotel buildings are pleasing to the eye.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your comments on our newly redecorated interior as well as our service and food. We recently redecorated our interior in order to give the restaurant a brighter and fresher look. It is disappointing that your service while dining with us did not meet your expectations. Our wait staff is extensively trained in order to be as knowledgeable and attentive as possible. In the future, please let us know immediately if something with your service is not right so that we can correct the problem. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope that you will join us again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing