We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prawns were awesome”
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
Ranked #16 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Toronto,Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Prawns were awesome”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been going here on each vacation since 1983. I love the classics at the cafe and again was thrilled with an exquisite lobster bisque and Giant prawns. The service as always was excellent and owner Sandy never fails to visit each table. The prices have gone up over the years but the classics on the menu continue to impress!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcoboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! First off, thank you for your support and for dining with us since 1983! We always like to see our customers come back and dine with us and it is very flattering to know that you've enjoyed our establishment for over thirty years. It is very satisfying to hear that you enjoyed our lobster bisque as well as our signature dish at the Café, the Jumbo Prawns. Our seafood is brought to us daily to ensure that it is as fresh and tasty as possible. Thank you for your positive comments on our service. One of our many goals at the Café is to ensure our staff is always very courteous, knowledgable and attentive in order to make your dining experience as pleasant as possible. Thank you for all of your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    141
    60
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Perfect meal from beginning to end. Went there to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Cafe de Marco sent two glasses of champagne to start the night off right. The stuffed mushroom appetizer was fabulous, but the prawn dinners my husband and I each had were unbelievably good. We have been to this restaurant 4 times now, and order prawns every time. Cooked to perfection, and the vegetables and rice accompaniment was delicious, too. The service and ambiance was also great. Would never think to visit Marco Island without coming to Cafe de Marco at least once!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for joining us on your special anniversary day and for your comments on our appetizer and seafood dishes. The Jumbo Prawns are our signature dish here at the Café and very popular with our guests. We receive our seafood daily to ensure it is as fresh as possible from kitchen to table. Thank you for your positive comments on your service while dining with us. We take pride in knowing that our staff is fully trained to be as knowledgable and attentive as possible. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon upon your next visit.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marco's finest!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is now our favorite restaurant on Marco Island. First of all, the outdoor ambiance is lovely with the music and lighting. The staff is very welcoming and made our dining experience not only comfortable and charming but fun! Our waiter Marty who we asked for remembered our names on our next visit and when we left we felt like we made a new friend. The food was fantastic! It will be the first place we will go back to next time we visit the island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soleilray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! We very much appreciate your comments about our outdoor seating area. We worked hard during the month of September to give our customers a more relaxed and fun dining experience. We also very much appreciate the fact that our staff was very friendly, knowledgable, and made your dining experience a fun visit. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed your entree's. Our seafood is brought to us fresh daily and our land lover selections are sure to please as well. Thank you for all of your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon upon your next visit to the island.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Historic Marco Island dining experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of Marco Islands finest seafood Restaurants is located in Historical Marco Island. Next to the Old Marco hotel you find Cafe de Marco. The house itself was once the quarters for the chamber maids. It is so tastefully done. Both indoor and out dining is available. It has such an old Floridian charm that it takes your breathe away.
The restaurant has had the same owners for thiry years, so that puts a nice touch on the service and the quaility. Fresh fish is brought in daily and if you need something cooked a special was, no worries. I started with crab cakes, which I must add I'm not a big fan, but they were to die for. The lobster bisque was the best I have had anywhere. For the main course, the fisherman's platter, alittle of everything. Which was absolutely wonderful. Desert tray was marvelous. All and all this restaurant is a real treat to your taste buds and . glorious surrounds. If your going to be in Marco or Naples don't miss this one. Closed on Sun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your comments on our newly redecorated look. Although we were closed throughout the month of September, we were very busy transforming the Café and giving it a fresh new look. We are so happy that you enjoyed our crab cakes as well as our lobster bisque. As you mentioned, our seafood is always fresh as it is brought in to us on a daily basis from local fishermen. Our desserts are made to order daily as well with the freshest of ingredients to satisfy any sweet tooth we come across! The Café holds a special place in the history of the Olde Marco area so we very much appreciate your comments about our building and its surroundings. As always, we thank you for all of your positive feedback and we hope to see you in the near future!

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A huge!!!Thanks to all the staff at cafe de marco. For making our anniversary special.my wife & myself were blown away by the seafood,& managed to share the house signature sweet!.& fantastic coffee. The best seafood restaurant we have dined in !!!.we were on vacation from Bonnie old Scotland & have travelled all over the world !!this is one of the best!!!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stenhouse67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for joining us on your special anniversary day and for your comments on our seafood. Our seafood is brought to us daily to ensure it is as fresh and tasty as possible. It is also very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our dessert and coffee as well. Our dessert, the Café Puff, is our signature dish and always a hit with our customers. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing