We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary dinner”
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
Ranked #28 of 125 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A huge!!!Thanks to all the staff at cafe de marco. For making our anniversary special.my wife & myself were blown away by the seafood,& managed to share the house signature sweet!.& fantastic coffee. The best seafood restaurant we have dined in !!!.we were on vacation from Bonnie old Scotland & have travelled all over the world !!this is one of the best!!!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stenhouse67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for joining us on your special anniversary day and for your comments on our seafood. Our seafood is brought to us daily to ensure it is as fresh and tasty as possible. It is also very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our dessert and coffee as well. Our dessert, the Café Puff, is our signature dish and always a hit with our customers. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 766 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great meal at Café de Marco. Our server, Scott, was very attentive and knowledgeable. Portions were large and two 2 appetizer, 2 entrees (including steak and seafood), and wine came to under $90, so we thought it was a good value also (we were too full to try dessert). The lobster bisque was awesome, crab cakes were also very good. The décor leaves a little to be desired (a bit dated inside; we sat outside with a view of the parking lot) but the food is what counts in my book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your positive comments on the service that you received. We strive to ensure that each member of our waiting staff is always friendly, knowledgable and very attentive to our guests needs. It is very satisfying to know that the appetizers as well as entree's were to your liking. Our seafood is brought to us fresh daily so that it is as tasty and flavorful as possible. Because the Cafe's building holds a special place in the history of Olde Marco, we feel that changing it too much would take away from its historic charm and legacy. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have food sensitivities, and the waiter cheerfully checked for all my questions, and was very attentive. The seafood was fresh, well prepared, good presentation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! Thank you for your positive comments on our seafood. It is brought to us daily to ensure that it is as fresh and tasty as possible. It is very satisfying to know that our wait staff was very attentive and knowledgable and took your food sensitivities into consideration while helping you find an entree of your liking. We appreciate your positive feedback very much and hope to serve you again soon in the near future.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I cancelled a reservation at a another restaurant to go eat at Cafe de Marco, when we went to Marco Island last week for vacation. We were really disappointed, maybe because it was so highly recomended and it came short on that recomendation. We travel all over Europe, USA and the Caribbean and Cafe de Marco's signature dish "The Prawns" had no taste, they were over cooked and of course that make them very dried. We come from a meditarrean back ground growing up with olive oil and garlic and herbs and the prawns that I ate that night just was nothing to brag about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bizzyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

All dishes here we're GREAT!!!! Our group enjoyed stone crab, prawns, and mahi, all were amazing. First time here, but won't be last. The only complaint was the seating was very crowded and it seems as people were sitting too close.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nationallparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwfra345, Manager at Cafe de Marco, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the Café de Marco. We are delighted that you joined us at the Café for dinner and had a wonderful experience! It is very satisfying to know that you enjoyed our signature, The Jumbo Prawns, along with our Stone Crab and Mahi dishes. Our seafood is brought to us locally each day to ensure that it is as fresh and tasteful as possible. Thank you as well for your comments regarding our seating. We are a small fine dining establishment and like to make you feel as if you were dining with family at home. Perhaps next time you can chummy up and get cozy with your neighbor! We very much appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Once again many thanks and the best,

Café de Marco Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing