We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky high price, small quantity, average at best food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de Marco

Cafe de Marco
Ranked #17 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tucked away in the northern most point of Old Marco is Cafe de Marco. An intimate bistro/cafe serving the most diverse selection of fresh seafood & other continental specialties since 1983. A favorite amongst locals & seasonal return visitors to Marco Island. Reservations are greatly appreciated. Olde Florida atmosphere in the historic district of Olde Marco. Perfect for an outstanding meal, business, or special occasion. Vast wine selection and beer available. Twilight specials and children's menu available. Owned and operated by same owner & family since starting out in 1983. Our building enjoys a rich piece of Marco history. The Cafe's building was the original quarters for the chamber maids employed by the historic Old Marco Inn just a few yards away. Many years ago the Inn functioned as a "bed & breakfast", and the maids would simply walk to work from our building. This explains the answer to a frequently asked question..."Was this an old house at one time?" Today, step inside to what has been transformed into an islander's tradition for over 30 years. We look forward to serving you soon! ~Sandy Franchino, Owner
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sky high price, small quantity, average at best food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Were planning on going to Lee Be Fish, but it was closed. So saw this restaurant next door and decided to drop in. Found the price to be sky high with very limited quantity food which at best can be said to be average in quality compared to all else that is available in Marco Island (and at much lower prices). Entree price starts at $25 and goes up with again limited amount of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mera-Safaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    133
    57
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Eat here twice on our recent holiday - Feb 13 - food is good but not brilliant, service first time around not bad but the second visit was pretty awful. Our server gave us the impression we were a bother to her and did not make us feel welcome at all. We were kept waiting a long time for our dinner and when we asked for finger bowls to wash our hands after peeling prawns we were made to feel we were asking for something quite out of the ordinary!! maybe this is the case in the US but in the UK this would have happened without a request. All in all the experience was one we would not choose to repeat as there are far nicer restaurants on Marco and surrounding area. Would not recommend this one unfortunately.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Higheaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome every time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We had reservations for 3 and we're seated immediately. All had lobster bisque, (to die for) with a ceasar salad after. One entrée was Captains Platter with sauté fish, oyster rockefeller, 3oz lobster tail, and a large crab cake. Yum! Another entrée was the huge butterflies prawns with a wonderful rice and sauce. The 3rd was a fish of the day pan seared with another great sauce. We all left stuffed and content. Still a bit pricey but we keep going back every few months to splurge so they are doing something right. I wouldn't recommend for small fidgety children but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Pics to follow.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lets be honest, Surimi is not crab!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ate here tonight, not first time either. Food here is generally good, can be high on the $$$ scale for some dishes. Had the shrimp Lenny appetizer, which is stuffed with "Surimi crab". Wasn't sure what that was, until I tasted it. I am someone who knows fake crab when tasted, so I found out that surimi crab is a fancy way of saying "imitation" crab. Although this is a decent place to eat,(not great) I am upset that they want to get over by calling imitation crab "surimi" which the average person might mistake for real crab. Boo on you, Cafe de Marco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JOHN1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very happy with service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have had the opportunity to visit this resturant numerous times and I am never been disappointed in the service or the food. The wait staff has always been courteous and attentive to our needs. I will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Marco also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe de Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing