We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lots of Fun

This tour is hard to describe other it was a lot of fun. Billy is very knowledgeable and imparts... read more

Reviewed September 6, 2018
tsmith7026
,
Roswell, Georgia
Great tour with Billy

This tour is very good.Billy drove us in the van to the air boat.. He stopped along the way a d... read more

Reviewed June 27, 2018
merrikate2018
,
Oceanside, New York
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
47
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airboat ride nature trail burrowing owl snakes billy blast island vacation
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 50 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Highly recommended. Billy O is very knowledgeable, and genuinely a nice guy. The airboat ride part of the tour was a lot more fun than we thought it would be, and we learned more about the area in a morning than all the other times we've come to Marco combined.

Get Billy to tell you his Bigfoot story...

Thank JDRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great tour of Marco and the Everglades. We took our 3 sons (14, 11, 9) on the tour with Billy. He picked us up at the Marriott and the education began. The first stop was to get a close up view of and endangered owl species on Marco. We then travelled to Goodland fishing village to learn more about the local Indians and wildlife. Billy then arranged for a great airboat ride (outstanding fun for the boys) into the Everglades where we saw abundant wildlife including lose encounters with 6 and 10 foot alligators. They swam right up to the boat to check us out. Everyone had the chance to hold a live 2 year old alligator. We then stopped to see several manatees and sea life along the road. We hen traveled in Billy's van to visit the Skunk-Ape Research HQ. Yep, there is such a place. there we learned about the Skunk-Ape and saw cool reptiles. We all held an Anaconda. Billy then took us back to the Marriott. I highly recommend touring with Billy. Was a great time.

Thank jmurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best part about this tour is the guide, Billy. He picks you up in a van and makes sure that you have a good time and learn as much as possible about the Evergaldes. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area, fauna, wildlife, and local inhabitants. For example, while driving down the road, he pointed out the nesting sites of various birds and where the alligators like to sun themselves. We stopped at the Skunk Ape Research Center - yes, it's real! The airboat ride was thrilling, although it was a bit chilly and the wildlife wasn't out much. Billy even gave us towels to sit on and wrap around our legs due to the chilly morning. (Only portable toilets are available at most stops.) While walking through an Everglades park, he pointed out unusual trees, ferns, and a bald eagle's nest. This tour is suitable for adults and children, although teenager may be looking for more excitement.

3  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We pick this tour without consulting any references on the web and we are totally satisfied with services provided. Billy , the guide/owner, is very knowledgeable, patient and client satisfaction minded person. We enjoy all aspect of the tour.
Jean and Lucie. March 12, 2013.

Thank Jean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is so much more than an everglades excursion. Billy the owner and guide has been a resident of the area for more than 30 years. His knowledge and love of the area, its history and wildlife is amazing. Our trip included a terrific air-boat ride during which we were able to get a few feet from a couple of 10' gators. (Very intimidating when that close) After the everglade portion we went to a canal to watch a manatee and it young cafe. Very cool to see these great creatures.

The tour also includes a nature walk in a national forest where we observed nesting bald eagles, more gators and ton of other birds. Billy explained all about the ecosystem and the plants. The trip also included a short stop at the "Skunk Ape Research Center" where the director Dave was more than generous with his time and talked about the Skunk Ape (a South Florida version of Bigfoot). At the center we also met a couple of Python hunters and held an albino boa constrictor, a Cockatoo and fed a very large tortoise. On the return he stopped to show us the 2 endangered burrowing animals on Marco Island...the burrowing owl and the tortoise.

Billy will do what ever it takes to make sure you have a great experience. It was a cold morning so on the air-boat ride he gave us jackets, he always had water and even lent one couple a camera to be sure they had great pictures. I wish I could give this experience 6 stars because it really was that enjoyable.

2  Thank VeronicaM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews